Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. I only used 6 cups of milk instead of 8 b/c I like my soup thicker. I also added some Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a bay leaf. I did not add sour cream or cheese until I was serving the soup and also threw some hot sauce on it. Instead of microwaving the potatoes, I boiled them with the onion. Once tweaked, it was a good rainy day/cold weather soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJPEMBO
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is good, but I rarely cook anything without putting my own twist on it. In this case I felt the base was a little bit bland so I added some garlic to taste and I added about 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese instead of the half cup called for. To avoid the separation issue with the sour cream I added it before the milk reached boiling and ended up with a smooth creamy base that did not curdle or separate. Then I added the onions and let them cook a little longer than called for. Finally I added the potatoes and the 2 cups of cheese. Topped with a little pile of bacon crumbles, more cheddar and some green onion tops. Turned out to be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJPEMBO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I really liked this soup. I also boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving. Left them just a bit firmer than if I were mashing them. In hindsight, I would have let the sour cream come to room temp, though. I added slowly but it still was difficult to incorporate and get smooth. Didn't affect the taste but sometimes you live and learn. I would love a little more spice or even some cooked carrot shavings or tiny broccoli florets for options next time. But the recipe is great as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This soup is delicious! I boil the potatoes instead of placing in microwave and after the soup is done, place in the crockpot on warm so the teenagers in our house can enjoy all afternoon and into the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was great! It is a wonderful recipe got bonding as well with children. My niece enjoyed cooking it and my daughter loved the consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
My family loved this recipe. The leftovers were even better the next day after the soup had time to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Clark Muse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used this recipe for my first try at potato soup. It was super easy to make and tasted incredible!! The only thing I did different was add 2 cups of cheese instead of the 1/2 cup called for in the recipe, but I always add more cheese to everything. We had four crock pots of soup going the day I served this and this one was almost empty at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is DELICIOUS! I had baked some extra potatoes a few days ago with the intention of making baked potato soup. I followed this recipe EXCEPT instead of cooking the potatoes in the microwave, I just halved the baked potatoes I already had, scooped out the potato and roughly chopped it up, and tossed it into the soup with the onions. Superb!! One other thing I did was to stir in some crumbled bacon before serving. My boys, ranging in age from 2 to 15, all thought it was great. I highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My family absoluetly loves this soup!!! It takes a few steps to make it but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I may have done something wrong by cutting everything in half to make a smaller portion.. But it didn't turn out the way I thought it would.. It was VERY bland,, Tasted like eating warm thick milk with potatoes in it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States