Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Now I have eaten my moms potato soup for many years. But sadly I never learned how to make it before she passed. Yesterday was my dads bday and that's what he wanted. I found this recipe and it seemed easy. I boiled my potatoes instead and not so much milk. I also didn't put the cheese in it because my dad want it in his. I thought this was a big batch..only have a small bowl left. I am very impressed and will make it more! Might make it again today because I was sick and didn't get to enjoy it like I should of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We liked the soup very well as a cream of potato soup before adding the sour cream and cheese. Once the sour cream was added, it overpowered the whole thing and it just tasted like warm sour cream. In the future, we will be omitting the sour cream and doubling the cheese or using a sharper cheddar for a more pronounced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Delicious... for people who are finding it gritty: you are not making the roux correctly. You must begin with low heat and the mixture must be stirred constantly to avoid scorching the flour. Start by melting the butter over low heat. When the foaming begins to subside, add the flour and stir constantly, watching the color of the mixture. It should become a light, nutty brown color. This may take five minutes or so. Do not go by the clock, but rather by the color. If the process is stopped too soon, while still white, it will taste like raw flour and be gritty. If it gets too brown, the flour has scorched and it will taste burnt. It's a science, really! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Just find a different recipe. Neh. This is how I would describe this recipe. I guess I was expecting everything to be mixed together (bacon, cheese, scallions, etc.) I don't know if it was my fault, but I was expecting creamy. I got lumpy, starchy . :( I would recommend not wasting your time and effort. I mean, if you want to try it, go ahead. My experience wasn't good, and I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This soup recipe is awful. Not pleasing to the eye or palate. I almost dumped the entire pot in the trash. I decided to wait and search online tomorrow for other recipes and hopefully discover the missing ingredients that can save this poor sad soup...if you can even call it soup! Slop may be a better word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My family loved this soup. It is so cold out today it hit the spot. However, did it a little bit different than the recipe. I boiled the potatoes, and added in green onions and yellow onion. I just barely covered the potatoes with water. I only had 2 cups of milk to add to the flour and butter. But it worked. While the potatoes were boiling and almost done I mashed them a little bit. I drained just a little bit of the water then added them to the rue. Instead of using Cheddar cheese I used Velveeta Cheese (1 cup). Then added 3 large spoonfuls of the sour cream . Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good soup but, I had to make some alterations in order to say that. I hate when people alter, then rate because rating should be based on the original recipe but, there was no way I was going to eat it as it was prior. I took the advice of another poster and boiled the potatoes first then drained very well. I also sauteed the onions to add more flavor to the soup and so they wouldn't have that "crunch" factor. Even after all of that, the soup was very watery and unflavored. I boiled it to thicken but it didn't work out as well as it should have. Didn't want to burn it so I let it simmer, cool down a bit and then added chicken bullion, garlic powder, onion powder and pepper. After adding the seasonings, it was delish. I will def make again and will try the original again because it very well just be a bad day on my part. Garnished with additional sour cream, shredded cheese, real bacon bits and scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Love it. I added cream cheese to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. I only used 6 cups of milk instead of 8 b/c I like my soup thicker. I also added some Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a bay leaf. I did not add sour cream or cheese until I was serving the soup and also threw some hot sauce on it. Instead of microwaving the potatoes, I boiled them with the onion. Once tweaked, it was a good rainy day/cold weather soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJPEMBO
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is good, but I rarely cook anything without putting my own twist on it. In this case I felt the base was a little bit bland so I added some garlic to taste and I added about 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese instead of the half cup called for. To avoid the separation issue with the sour cream I added it before the milk reached boiling and ended up with a smooth creamy base that did not curdle or separate. Then I added the onions and let them cook a little longer than called for. Finally I added the potatoes and the 2 cups of cheese. Topped with a little pile of bacon crumbles, more cheddar and some green onion tops. Turned out to be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJPEMBO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States