Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I did not like the taste of this soup as made per the recipe, so I had to fix it. Lots of salt, some onion powder, some bacon bits, more cheese, lots of black pepper. Then, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
It seemed like the recipe was missing something. I ended up adding a tablespoon of garlic powder to the recipe and it tasted a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Best potato soup! I added maple bacon and a little chicken broth and bay leaf turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Great basic recipe that I added to since I am lactose and gluten intolerant. I used a 13.5 oz can of lite coconut milk with a cup of water. I also browned up some mild Italian sausage and cooked it with the onion, I used more onion and more cheese, with a little garlic. Corn starch as a thickener instead of flour. Very good! This recipe is wonderful in that yams/sweet potatoes/ squash could be added along with spices to make it a curry type soup. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Turned out well I added parsley and chives and a bit of garlic powder. Shredded cheese and bacon on top, looks great tastes better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This soup turned out perfectly. I also boiled my diced potatoes. It needed a little more "zip" so I added a little tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
made it tonight for dinner with some warm bread.....everyone loved it..this is surely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Couch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deputy, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is a good recipe! I will def make again. Idid however add bacon to it during cooking and after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate GR
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This turned out great for my family!! My husband, who I found out later didn't like these types of soups, actually went back for seconds, so I consider that a win! Things I did differently: 1) I boiled the potatoes in salt water instead of microwaving them. 2) I added the onion to the butter in the beginning to soften them and help release liquid and flavor for adding the flour. 3) I had the milk/butter/flour mixture simmer on low while stirring a little longer to reach my desired consistency. The extra time also helps some of the "raw flour taste" cook out better and prevents milk curdling. 4) GARLIC! The original recipe is good enough, but there is always room for garlic in our book. I added a few teaspoons of minced garlic when I added the onion. 5) I DID NOT add the sour cream nor the cheese until the soup was served up and ready to head to the table. That way, my husband and son could add each ingredient to their tastes. 6) I also added some fresh chopped green onions and crumbled bacon to the top. Again to each person's taste at the end. Since my cooking changes involved a little more time, this brought the cooking time to about 45 minutes to an hour, but the results were WELL WORTH the effort. Anytime I can get my husband to love something he previously hated it is worth all the effort. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Loved it but my potatoes did not cook well so I ended blending most of it but my family just simply loved the soup and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States