Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This recipe is great. Skip the microwaving the potatoes and go boil them instead. I added broccoli and doubled the cheese, it is really thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I don't suggested cooking the potatoes in the microwave though. They don't turn out as soft. I used powdered milk and it turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I did make some changes based on preference, but this was fantastic! After adding the milk, I added 2 chopped garlic cloves and 2 veg bouillon cubes. And I substituted dried chives for the onion. Very, very good, and very versatile. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I have been serving this in my restaurant for a few weeks now, It gets raves. Very easy and delish. I now serve it every friday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
As previously suggested, I cut the recipe in half, but used twice the amount of potatoes. I used leftover baked potatoes from the night before and placed the potatoes and the onion in a crockpot and then add the milk mixture over top and let it cook on low for about 1 1/2 hours. I wasn't really watching as I made it mid-morning and it was for lunch. I needed to add more milk as it cooked to prevent it from scorching and I used a potato masher to mash some of the chunks. Toward the end of cooking time I added in the sour cream and the cheddar cheese. Soup was served at the table with salt and pepper and more sour cream and cheese, but no one used anything other than the salt and pepper. It was good, but I want to play around with the seasoning a bit. Perhaps some white pepper, salt, and garlic added during cooking time might round out this otherwise rich and tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Baked potato soup is a favorite at our house. It is always the first soup I make of the year. I try to use left over baked potatoes to save some time. I also like to mash some of the potatoes and leave some chunked to get a better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Comfort food at its best. I halved the recipe but used twice as many spuds as called for (only because they were about to go bad on me), added some chopped broccoli and used granulated onion in place of the real deal. Thought this was so much better than it would be - thick and delicious. The sour cream really adds something to this....and as unbelievable as it is, salt and pepper are the only necessary spices. Topped with shredded cheddar and real bits of bacon and let me say that I can't wait to make this one again. Also, I used all fat free or low fat products and it did not compromise the flavor at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I often choose recipes based upon the review,this was one of those recipes and for the first time I was very disappointed!! The potatos turned a blackish color and even after cooking significantly longer then the recipe stated the potatos were still crunchy and to top the whole thing off the soup is rather bland in the end anyway. I love soup but will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cabot, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I tried many recipes at this website. This recipe is the not the best. It almost tasted good when I added cooked sausage to the Loaded Potato Soup I. If you don`t want to waste your time, don`t cook this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is a great recipe I added ham chucks to it and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States