Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Hubs’ elaborate approval and five star rating of these potato cakes was a rare occasion. Indeed, I agree with his assessment – that they were NOT soggy as some can be, they were flavorful, as some are not, and certainly a “make again.” But what he didn’t know was that I changed this recipe significantly, not with the ingredients, but with the measurements of them. I used TWICE the amount of potatoes called for while at the same time using only 1/3 the amount of flour. If my math is correct that means I used only 1/6 the amount of flour meant for a given measurement of potatoes. I used no butter at all –the bacon grease was enough. As Hubs put it, the potato cakes didn’t suffer for my changes, and in his mind (and mine too) they were instead improved. As written, with the hefty amount of cheese and flour expected for the amount of potatoes called for, I can’t imagine I would have liked them. Too much flour, cheese and butter for sure, for such a small amount of potatoes. So… use twice the amount of potatoes, no butter, and just a tablespoon or two of flour and these are simply excellent. As this recipe’s first reviewer, I want to be very careful that I send it off on the right foot. My four star rating, then, is better than the recipe as written and less than the five stars this recipe deserves with these modifications. To rate it any less than four stars would unnecessarily dissuade others from trying this recipe that has such great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used all of the ingredients in this recipe, but adjusted the quantities. At least in this house, there's no way that 1-1/4 cups of mashed potatoes will yield 4 servings as a side dish, so I used what I had in the fridge, 2 cups. Also, even with 2 cups of potatoes, 3/4 cup flour is too much. I didn't want to be tasting the flour in my potato cakes, so that was adjusted downward. And I didn't use nearly the fat listed in this recipe. After cooking the bacon, there was a lot of grease in the skillet, so I poured out quite a bit of it and added about 1 tbsp of butter to the pan (wanted the butter for the flavor). There still was a little bit of fat in my non-stick ceramic skillet after the veggies were cooked, so I just browned my cakes in there, didn't start over with a clean skillet and more oil; that worked great, and they browned beautifully. I think all of the ingredients are there for outstanding mashed potato cakes, but you'll just need to adjust them to your personal tastes. For example, next time, I'll add more hot sauce for just a little more zing of spiciness. Good recipe, just needs some customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Made tonight! I used cheddar cheese instead of American it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derrickandlisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wanted to make a slightly faster version, so I substituted celery salt, onion powder, and garlic powder for the fresh veggies and it worked great. Used sharp cheddar to give a bit more cheesy kick. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and cooked them to a deep golden brown and the inside was like dough. They had absolutely no taste (I noted no salt listed thought that might be a problem). We couldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
great! made a few modifications. No bacon, used ham & less flour. Don't mess with them while they are cooking or they fall apart. Leave em be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It needed salt! I added some to the water and additional in the mix. Still needed a little more but next time I make this, I know how much to add!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I have made this for years. I always try to have leftover mashed potatoes of whatever type. (loaded or not). Mashed potato cakes are great with bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have no idea what went wrong but they were a mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great brunch food. Topped with a fried egg. Very Yummy as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States