Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Hubs’ elaborate approval and five star rating of these potato cakes was a rare occasion. Indeed, I agree with his assessment – that they were NOT soggy as some can be, they were flavorful, as some are not, and certainly a “make again.” But what he didn’t know was that I changed this recipe significantly, not with the ingredients, but with the measurements of them. I used TWICE the amount of potatoes called for while at the same time using only 1/3 the amount of flour. If my math is correct that means I used only 1/6 the amount of flour meant for a given measurement of potatoes. I used no butter at all –the bacon grease was enough. As Hubs put it, the potato cakes didn’t suffer for my changes, and in his mind (and mine too) they were instead improved. As written, with the hefty amount of cheese and flour expected for the amount of potatoes called for, I can’t imagine I would have liked them. Too much flour, cheese and butter for sure, for such a small amount of potatoes. So… use twice the amount of potatoes, no butter, and just a tablespoon or two of flour and these are simply excellent. As this recipe’s first reviewer, I want to be very careful that I send it off on the right foot. My four star rating, then, is better than the recipe as written and less than the five stars this recipe deserves with these modifications. To rate it any less than four stars would unnecessarily dissuade others from trying this recipe that has such great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Made tonight! I used cheddar cheese instead of American it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derrickandlisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I loved these cakes! Yummers! My Grandma used to make similar (more tame) with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this yesterday and it turned out very mussy, i pan fry them with medium heat and it just wont shape up. Almost impossible to flip because its so mussy it just wont flip. Tried again this morning with less batter, still same result. What am i missing or doing wrong? I followed the recipe as close as i can already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It needed salt! I added some to the water and additional in the mix. Still needed a little more but next time I make this, I know how much to add!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used all of the ingredients in this recipe, but adjusted the quantities. At least in this house, there's no way that 1-1/4 cups of mashed potatoes will yield 4 servings as a side dish, so I used what I had in the fridge, 2 cups. Also, even with 2 cups of potatoes, 3/4 cup flour is too much. I didn't want to be tasting the flour in my potato cakes, so that was adjusted downward. And I didn't use nearly the fat listed in this recipe. After cooking the bacon, there was a lot of grease in the skillet, so I poured out quite a bit of it and added about 1 tbsp of butter to the pan (wanted the butter for the flavor). There still was a little bit of fat in my non-stick ceramic skillet after the veggies were cooked, so I just browned my cakes in there, didn't start over with a clean skillet and more oil; that worked great, and they browned beautifully. I think all of the ingredients are there for outstanding mashed potato cakes, but you'll just need to adjust them to your personal tastes. For example, next time, I'll add more hot sauce for just a little more zing of spiciness. Good recipe, just needs some customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great brunch food. Topped with a fried egg. Very Yummy as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Excellent Recipe! After reading other reviews, it made sense to cut back on flour and use more potatoes. Used cheddar cheese. Used bacon bits and had a little previously reserved bacon grease to cook vegetables. Topped cooked patties similar to photo with sour cream, cheddar cheese, bacon bits and chives. The family loved it. Saving it with our favorite recipes and looking forward to left over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this recipe the other day when I had leftover potatoes from another meal. I didn't have celery, so didn't use it and cut down on the flour to 1/2 cup and cheese to 1/2 cup to cut calories and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wanted to make a slightly faster version, so I substituted celery salt, onion powder, and garlic powder for the fresh veggies and it worked great. Used sharp cheddar to give a bit more cheesy kick. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States