Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I have made this for years. I always try to have leftover mashed potatoes of whatever type. (loaded or not). Mashed potato cakes are great with bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have no idea what went wrong but they were a mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Had lots of mashed potato left and needed a way to use them up. Think I'll be making extra mash all the time now....... this recipe was so good, we all loved it. Thank you, thank you, thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswaldtwistle, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and cooked them to a deep golden brown and the inside was like dough. They had absolutely no taste (I noted no salt listed thought that might be a problem). We couldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
great! made a few modifications. No bacon, used ham & less flour. Don't mess with them while they are cooking or they fall apart. Leave em be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The ratio's made a perfect potato pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this from mashed i had left from xmas dinner and they loved them all i added was a little red and yellow pepper, didnt change pans and hand formed the patties a little messy but what is when made with love, will do them many more times i am sure:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wanted to make a slightly faster version, so I substituted celery salt, onion powder, and garlic powder for the fresh veggies and it worked great. Used sharp cheddar to give a bit more cheesy kick. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this recipe the other day when I had leftover potatoes from another meal. I didn't have celery, so didn't use it and cut down on the flour to 1/2 cup and cheese to 1/2 cup to cut calories and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Excellent Recipe! After reading other reviews, it made sense to cut back on flour and use more potatoes. Used cheddar cheese. Used bacon bits and had a little previously reserved bacon grease to cook vegetables. Topped cooked patties similar to photo with sour cream, cheddar cheese, bacon bits and chives. The family loved it. Saving it with our favorite recipes and looking forward to left over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States