Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made a lot of modifications to this recipe. For starters, I used closer to 3 cups of mashed potatoes and only 1/3 cup of flour. I honestly omitted or changed the amounts of most of the ingredients and used my own. I didn't have any yellow onion left, so I used 1/2 cup of red onion but I still maintained the 1 stalk of celery and the egg. I then added about a tbs of fresh chive and upped it to 4 pieces of bacon. I put in about 1/4 cup of sour cream, 1 tsp of freshly minced garlic, garlic powder, sea salt, ground pepper, onion powder, and original Mrs. Dash. I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic together in the bacon grease (I drained some of it out) and added 2 tbs of butter to it. I added a little more butter and cooked the potato mixture in the bacon greases and butter. They came out pretty good. I was my first stab at potato pancakes so I had a few issues cooking them, but I figured it out towards the end and the next time I make these, I'm sure they will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowgirl1224

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I tried to make these and really messed them up. I gave it four stars because even the mess was tasty! Since mine fell apart I just put a some on the side and added the sour cream and shredded cheese on top of the "lump" of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RECIPE, just the way it is! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good. I followed the recipe except I only used 3TBSP of flour with 1.5 cups of mashed potatoes. Will make again, the family enjoyed these potato burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I have made this for years. I always try to have leftover mashed potatoes of whatever type. (loaded or not). Mashed potato cakes are great with bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have no idea what went wrong but they were a mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Had lots of mashed potato left and needed a way to use them up. Think I'll be making extra mash all the time now....... this recipe was so good, we all loved it. Thank you, thank you, thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswaldtwistle, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and cooked them to a deep golden brown and the inside was like dough. They had absolutely no taste (I noted no salt listed thought that might be a problem). We couldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
great! made a few modifications. No bacon, used ham & less flour. Don't mess with them while they are cooking or they fall apart. Leave em be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The ratio's made a perfect potato pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States