Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe is fabulous. I had leftover mashed potatoes that I wanted to use up. I followed the recipe exactly. I used my Pampered Chef scoop to scoop them into the fry pan. That way the pancakes were all the same size (about silver dollar sized). I flattened them out pretty well, and cooked until brown on each side. This was a hit for the whole family. I served the pancakes with applesauce and cottage cheese. This made for a nice dinner on a very hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend last night and he loved it! Don't mess with the patties until they are cooked on the first side, or it will be a mess. I added garlic salt and was very yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Made without bacon. Made a gravy dip. they were amazing, hot sauce important for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Make sure the patties are squashed down in pan enough...if they are too thick, it makes for a strange texture. Used cheddar cheese. Great way to use leftovers in a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Really good recipe. I've made it twice now using frozen hash browns instead of mashed potatoes. I used dehydrated garlic and onions, as that's all we had on hand. I used cheddar cheese, and the second time, I added blue cheese, too. Used bacon bits cause we don't have any fresh bacon, but I bet it's a lot better with the real stuff. I heated up some vegetable oil with a bit of butter. I used a lot more potatoes than 1 1/2 cups, and 1/3 cup of flour as others suggested. It was delicious! I'd give 5 stars, but I really only used this as a guideline, so..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
We liked this recipe and gave it four stars. I have been making potato cakes for years but had never thought of adding celery, bacon and cheese. I used about 2 cups of potatoes and 1/3 cup of flour. I did not cook the celery or onion. Instead, I chopped them in the food processor along with the cooked bacon. The raw vegetables added a nice crunchiness and texture to the potato cakes. I used garlic salt. These fried up golden and crisp in my cast iron skillet. Thanks Teach09 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made a lot of modifications to this recipe. For starters, I used closer to 3 cups of mashed potatoes and only 1/3 cup of flour. I honestly omitted or changed the amounts of most of the ingredients and used my own. I didn't have any yellow onion left, so I used 1/2 cup of red onion but I still maintained the 1 stalk of celery and the egg. I then added about a tbs of fresh chive and upped it to 4 pieces of bacon. I put in about 1/4 cup of sour cream, 1 tsp of freshly minced garlic, garlic powder, sea salt, ground pepper, onion powder, and original Mrs. Dash. I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic together in the bacon grease (I drained some of it out) and added 2 tbs of butter to it. I added a little more butter and cooked the potato mixture in the bacon greases and butter. They came out pretty good. I was my first stab at potato pancakes so I had a few issues cooking them, but I figured it out towards the end and the next time I make these, I'm sure they will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowgirl1224

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I tried to make these and really messed them up. I gave it four stars because even the mess was tasty! Since mine fell apart I just put a some on the side and added the sour cream and shredded cheese on top of the "lump" of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RECIPE, just the way it is! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good. I followed the recipe except I only used 3TBSP of flour with 1.5 cups of mashed potatoes. Will make again, the family enjoyed these potato burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States