Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Not for us.. sorry. Weird texture and not much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Roger Stradley
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I read all the reviews and lowered the flour by half. I increased the potatoes by a half a cup. I should have used a bit more garlic and salt. I can't use real unions here so I need to find something to put a little zip into it. BUT, I did like the results and will definitely add this to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Stradley
Home Town: Hodgenville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I liked it it was my first time making that kind of stuff but what I did was I mixed the sour cream and cheese and bacon then I fried it up into patties it was good thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Wow! These were so yummy! My changes, I did not use egg, used cheddar and bacon bits. No onion or celery, but used garlic powder...wow! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Had leftover simply mashed potatoes, about 2 cups. Used 1/2 c flour, but next time will decrease to 1/4 cup. Used a handful of mozzarella cheese that I wanted to use up. Seasoned with salt and pepper and egg. Browned in a little butter 5 min on each side. Served with a dollop of sour cream and a little chopped fresh onions. Served with eggs and turkey sausage for breakfast. Much simpler version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These were delicious! One of the best recipes I've ever made. I will definitely make them again. I read some of the previous reviews and followed some of the changes made: doubled the amount of potatoes and used less flour (I used 2 cups of potatoes and 1/2 cup of flour) When I was frying the first batch they started to fall apart a little so I added a little bit more flour to the mixture I had left). The second batch came out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I make these all the time, minus the celery, and they always turn out beautifully. For those that say they are mushy or doughy, you're probably cooking them on too high of heat. Mine take approximately 5-6 minutes per side and they get fluffy inside and crisp outside. Do not reduce flour or egg, they act as binders and reducing them means your potato cakes with disintegrate as you cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Much, much better than my mothers with egg, milk, & breadcrumbs. Did I say she can't cook?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Ross Gardiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Oh my goodness we loved this.. didn't change a thing but next time think I will add jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States