Lloyd's Healthy Chicken Zoopa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used this recipe as a guide, but made a number of changes. Here’s what I did differently. I used a cup of onions, no leeks and a mix of colored peppers. I did use both the hot pepper sauce and the Worcestershire, no spinach (didn’t have) and no noodles (watching carbs). I also used pre-cooked rotisserie chicken, adding it at the end. This was good and we liked the flavor the peppers provided. We thought the hot pepper sauce and Worcestershire weren’t even detectable in the finished soup. Next time, I’d add more or leave them out entirely. Perhaps this is no fault of the recipe, but my chicken was dry and chewy. I have no clue how that happened. I may have simmered it too long when reheating. I’ll be more careful next time. This was a nice brothy and healthy soup, that I’d be inclined to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I added spices, used a rotisserie chicken (with juices), used broth (not stock), and upped it to 2 cups of whole wheat noodles. My wife said it was the best chicken noodle soup she has ever had. It is healthy warmed us up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Really good! This is a new staple at our house. I use a whole rotisserie chicken so this is a meal in one dish. I've also substituted quinoa for the noodles and that was good too. Keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This soup is delicious and very healthy. Great for a cold day. Easy to make. Already made it several times this winter. Can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This is our go-to chicken soup recipe. The only change we make is to use orzo. Otherwise, this recipe if fantastic as is. Plus, on Weight Watchers, it's 6 points per serving. Can't beat that for a lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Yummy, healthy, and clean! Also easy to add or take away veggies. Makes good left overs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I make this recipe all the time, and my family loves it...even my picky two-year-old eats it! I've made it exactly as written, and I've substituted veggies with what I have on hand, and every time it's been delicious. It's also a great soup for when you're feeling under the weather. For anyone nervous about throwing raw chicken in the soup, trust me, it's okay...it's always cooked through and very yummy when the soup is done, just keep it simmering :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Excellent soup. Healthy, easy. Thank you Lloyd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I couldn't put raw chicken it at the end, so I cooked it first, maybe it's just me. The only other change was to use cooked rice instead of egg noodles since we can't have them and I already had cooked rice. It could be called bland, but I used very little salt which probably would have helped and left out the optional leeks. I like that you can taste the veggies but did like the addition of a dash of crushed red pepper to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is my favorite end of the week left over veggies soup. I have made it with a million variations. One of my favorites is replacing the spinach with bok choy or Kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States