LJ's Easy Penne with Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This sauce is really good! I used about 1/4 c heavy cream, and the rest fat free half and half. A little extra vodka, and doctored it up with basil, parsley, and oregano. For me, adding a few packs of splenda is a must. It cuts the acid and gives a hint of sweetness. Served this with sliced chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this for a party and everyone asked me for the recipe- I was soooo proud!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
My husband and I enjoyed this rich sauce, but the kids found it too heavy. They preferred Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce from this site. If you make this, add 1 tsp. each of basil, oregano, and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I searched for a vodka sauce recipe and so glad I found this one. It was delicious. Added a little garlic because I like it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Hmm...the Vodka sauce I've had was really good with just a HINT of vodka. I might try this recipe again but only putting in half-3/4's of the vodka...This burned my throat and mouth. The smell on the stove was not good. I love vodka! Just not this sauce. I ended up putting meat and veggies in and trying to mask the taste. It still was strong just didn't burn. Anyhow, sorry. Just too much vodka
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Sooooo good. Easy is right.....this sauce took no time to make....I was a lil nervous about a whole 1/2c of vodka since I have never made this kind of sauce before....but...it was perfect..I did use fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of the light cream... to cut the fat. Glad I tried this....family enjoyed!!! Served with garlic bread and a salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Mercy this is good! Wish we could rate with more than 5 stars!! Like a previous reviewer, add a bit of sugar. Tweak it a little everytime I make it (which is often - especially good on gnocchi!) Made a chunky version by adding 1/2 chopped green pepper and using petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed. Cooked the tomatoes and other veggies, then stirred in the vodka in the last 5 minutes, then stirring in fat free half and half at the last minute just til it's heated through. Cut the calories, but same taste and texture as the cream. Can't wait til summer to try it with fresh tomatoes! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' 2nite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very good and simple recipe. I used half and half instead of cream to cut on fat. Served over whole wheat penne and some fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Wow! This was very good. I sauteed the garlic along with the onion then added the crushed red pepper flakes. After adding the crushed tomatoes I added 1 Tbsp. of basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, 1 tsp. of parsley, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 2 tsp. of sugar. I also used a good vodka and half and half instead of light cream and parmesan instead of romano (didn't have any on hand). I used 1/2 pound of penne pasta and served this with garlic breadsticks. The sauce was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is delicious and easy. I added some basil and about 1 tsp. sugar. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States