LIZZY217's Lamb Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe many times over the past couple of years and love it. Actually, I like the meat preparation method here better than that for traditional gyro meat (using ground lamb, etc.) Here are the changes I make to the marinade part of the recipe: (a) substitute extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil; (b) omit the brandy completely (usually I add a little extra lemon juice and no more than a couple of teaspoons of balsamic vinegar); (c) drastically increase the marinade herbs (i.e. 1 tsp. each of rosemary, thyme, oregano, pepper, and marjoram along with an extra clove or so of garlic); and d) add a teaspoon or so of dried chicken broth granules to the marinade. If it's available, I buy fresh cubed lamb stew meat for this recipe--saves a lot of time cubing meat and trimming fat away. Also, I don't bother with the skewers when roasting the lamb. They really aren't necessary as long as you have some way of draining the fat/juices off of the meat while it's roasting (e.g. using a broiler pan). Finally, I like Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce(on this site) better than the tzatziki recipe given here. If the tzatziki is too bland for your taste, try adding in a little freshly ground pepper, rosemary, thyme, garlic powder, lemon juice, and/or olive oil. Finally, don't skip the feta cheese (even though the recipe says it's optional)--it adds wonderful flavor to the finished product. These gyros are GOOD! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I used goat meat instead of lamb, which was a bit tough but very yummy. Also I used a slightly different tzatziki recipe, and spinach leaves instead of shredded lettuce. The marinade for the meat was just divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
For our taste, the marinade just wasn't flavorful enough. I added some dill to the cucumber sauce, as another reviewer suggested. and that helped, but the marinade did not win us over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
super delicious. We eat gyros regularly. They are supr healthy and packed full of fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This marindade is spot on. Gave the spices a couple of turns in the spice grinder to wake them up. It seemed I had too much spice and too little liquid for the amount of meat, but it turned out perfectly. Marinaded around 24 hours in a zippy bag and it made for a quick weeknight meal the following night. Will definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent and not too difficult! I got the wrong cut of lamb so it was a little bit difficult to deal with but it still turned out excellent. Will use again with better lamb cuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a WONDERFUL marinade for the lamb! It was incredibly flavorful. I used leg of lamb because it is less fatty and just cubed it. I actually prefer a little sauce so did not drain it out completely. I didn't have any marjoram and just subbed in a little more oregano and added some coriander and paprika. So delicious! Thanks...we are huge fans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Good flavor. I did add about 1/4 tsp. of dill to the yogurt/cucumber sauce. It adds a nice flavor to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Everyone loved it! Used balsamic vinegar instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was absolutely amazing. I didn't use the brandy, and I used flatbreads instead of pita pockets. I think I would also prefer thin strips of lamb instead of chunks, so I will try to do that next time. But overall, it was so, SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States