LIZZY217's Lamb Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe many times over the past couple of years and love it. Actually, I like the meat preparation method here better than that for traditional gyro meat (using ground lamb, etc.) Here are the changes I make to the marinade part of the recipe: (a) substitute extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil; (b) omit the brandy completely (usually I add a little extra lemon juice and no more than a couple of teaspoons of balsamic vinegar); (c) drastically increase the marinade herbs (i.e. 1 tsp. each of rosemary, thyme, oregano, pepper, and marjoram along with an extra clove or so of garlic); and d) add a teaspoon or so of dried chicken broth granules to the marinade. If it's available, I buy fresh cubed lamb stew meat for this recipe--saves a lot of time cubing meat and trimming fat away. Also, I don't bother with the skewers when roasting the lamb. They really aren't necessary as long as you have some way of draining the fat/juices off of the meat while it's roasting (e.g. using a broiler pan). Finally, I like Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce(on this site) better than the tzatziki recipe given here. If the tzatziki is too bland for your taste, try adding in a little freshly ground pepper, rosemary, thyme, garlic powder, lemon juice, and/or olive oil. Finally, don't skip the feta cheese (even though the recipe says it's optional)--it adds wonderful flavor to the finished product. These gyros are GOOD! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I used goat meat instead of lamb, which was a bit tough but very yummy. Also I used a slightly different tzatziki recipe, and spinach leaves instead of shredded lettuce. The marinade for the meat was just divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
For our taste, the marinade just wasn't flavorful enough. I added some dill to the cucumber sauce, as another reviewer suggested. and that helped, but the marinade did not win us over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
super delicious. We eat gyros regularly. They are supr healthy and packed full of fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This marindade is spot on. Gave the spices a couple of turns in the spice grinder to wake them up. It seemed I had too much spice and too little liquid for the amount of meat, but it turned out perfectly. Marinaded around 24 hours in a zippy bag and it made for a quick weeknight meal the following night. Will definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent and not too difficult! I got the wrong cut of lamb so it was a little bit difficult to deal with but it still turned out excellent. Will use again with better lamb cuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a WONDERFUL marinade for the lamb! It was incredibly flavorful. I used leg of lamb because it is less fatty and just cubed it. I actually prefer a little sauce so did not drain it out completely. I didn't have any marjoram and just subbed in a little more oregano and added some coriander and paprika. So delicious! Thanks...we are huge fans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Good flavor. I did add about 1/4 tsp. of dill to the yogurt/cucumber sauce. It adds a nice flavor to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Berens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Everyone loved it! Used balsamic vinegar instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was absolutely amazing. I didn't use the brandy, and I used flatbreads instead of pita pockets. I think I would also prefer thin strips of lamb instead of chunks, so I will try to do that next time. But overall, it was so, SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States