Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was a good base recipe and technique to work from. There are a few simple changes that can be implemented to improve the recipe as is (ie: simmer in chicken stock instead of water), my highly adapted recipe is as follows. I soaked a pound of beef liver in milk for an hour, while I simmered homemade chicken stock with the sliced onions (which I had previously sautéed) and 10 pitted dates for about 30 minutes to develop the stock. I drained the milk and poached the liver until done. After allowing the liver to come down to warm, I pureed it in my blendtec along with 1/2 c butter, a few tbsp single malt, about 5 of the boiled dates, a coupla tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, 1 tsp dried sage, 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I omitted the raw chopped onion and didn't miss it, probably because I went to the trouble of infusing the stock before cooking the liver. A very nice result. Try it out for yourself and see what you think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Made this recipe this morning, taking advise to tweet a little bit. Boiled the liver in the water with onion but did add a chicken bouillon cube. Strained the livers throwing out the onions, let cool. Followed the recipe as listed but increased the chopped onions to 1/3 cup, added a few dashes of Worcestershire and a clove of garlic. This recipe is wonderful. I have an old one from a famous 5 star restaurant that is now closed using chicken fat to cook the livers and this recipe I think is so much better and richer. I give this at least 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This recipe is a great starting point. I use less butter, more sherry (or dry white wine), and a squeeze of lemon juice. Also, no mace. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Super smooth and creamy! I followed Dick Rebel's suggestions and didn't overcook the livers. I also finished it with a touch of truffle-infused oil. I didn't have any shallots but used vidalias instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have made this about 3 times previous with no problem. Loved it, turned out great. Last time I read the reviews and decided to add the cream to it as suggested by someone. Won't ever do that again, it separated and no amount of mixing would get it to blend together again. I had let the livers cool, and my cream was not spoiled or anything. NO idea what happened. I live very far from a store and it was late, so no chance of a redo. Put it in the fridge anyways hoping for the best but no, the next day it was just as gross. If anyone can enlighten me on why this might have happened I would be interested to know, it ruined a gift for a pal as I had no time to remake :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I rated this a 1 star and called it bland and bitter I am apologetic because the bitter was my fault and I have learn to clean the liver better to remove all fibrous and white parts with a very sharp knife, I had included lighter colored livers and maybe that was the problem as for the bland well it is basic and that were the fun starts, so to William I am sorry I spoke to soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
My husband and I loved it! I didn't have any mace, so I'm not sure what that would have added, but we also added a little worchestershire and some horseradish mustard. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Darn you William! You've turned me into a Liver Pate addict; I was recently caught by my husband, at 2am in the morning, inside the fridge scooping liver pate with an assortment of cracker. Best Pate ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wonderful! I had to make this for the Beef Wellington but eating the leftovers the next day showed how wonderful it is. My hubby (who only like pate de foie gras) said it was outstanding -- not that normal strong chicken liver flavor. I left in some cooked onions while pureeing, and added about 2 TBS more dry sherry (didn't have cooking sherry). Substituted mace for allspice and still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Brandade

This amazing dish from the south of France is a must have!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States