Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I used it for Beef Wellington and it truly made the dish. Thank you for it… its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Good basic recipe. Easy, but could use some illumination. First, don't over cook the livers. When stabbed, they should still be 'rosey' inside. Once livers are done, drain, and pick out onion. LET COOL. Trying to puree hot livers with the butter makes it soup. Puree the liver WELL. First you might need to scrape, and then you'll see the "rolling ball" stage . Keep going. You'll read another "following" stage before done. Liver when tested should be smoothe, like butter. I like to use 1/4 C shallots instead of onion for the final finish. Add the onion/shallot first, and run the processor until you can't see any bits larger than a peppercorn via looking at the side of the clear processor bowl. Add softened butter, but cut the butter into chunks for easer mising. Run for a but until no large chunks of butter. Then add sherry. Try not to use cheap grocery store cooking shery, use a nice sherry, it make a big difference. Mix to add sherry. I add about 1 to 2 Tbs of whole cream now, and run for about 1 minute. Mixture will be nearly soupy. Pour into oiled bowl/mold. You'll need more than 1 hour to chill, try 3 or 4 to set properly. Use a warm water bath for perfect unmolding. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Darn you William! You've turned me into a Liver Pate addict; I was recently caught by my husband, at 2am in the morning, inside the fridge scooping liver pate with an assortment of cracker. Best Pate ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie C
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I'm new to the world of pureed meats. First, I made the recipe exactly as printed. Tasted it and then doubled the spices. Very nice ... my mom said it's better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wonderful! I had to make this for the Beef Wellington but eating the leftovers the next day showed how wonderful it is. My hubby (who only like pate de foie gras) said it was outstanding -- not that normal strong chicken liver flavor. I left in some cooked onions while pureeing, and added about 2 TBS more dry sherry (didn't have cooking sherry). Substituted mace for allspice and still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
My husband and I loved it! I didn't have any mace, so I'm not sure what that would have added, but we also added a little worchestershire and some horseradish mustard. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Super smooth and creamy! I followed Dick Rebel's suggestions and didn't overcook the livers. I also finished it with a touch of truffle-infused oil. I didn't have any shallots but used vidalias instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Made this recipe this morning, taking advise to tweet a little bit. Boiled the liver in the water with onion but did add a chicken bouillon cube. Strained the livers throwing out the onions, let cool. Followed the recipe as listed but increased the chopped onions to 1/3 cup, added a few dashes of Worcestershire and a clove of garlic. This recipe is wonderful. I have an old one from a famous 5 star restaurant that is now closed using chicken fat to cook the livers and this recipe I think is so much better and richer. I give this at least 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This recipe is a great starting point. I use less butter, more sherry (or dry white wine), and a squeeze of lemon juice. Also, no mace. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States