Liver Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is similar to a recipe I got while living in Germany in the 60's. It called for 8 white rolls soaked in 1 C milk and squeezed out, only 1/2# liver, butter to saute onion, 1 clove garlic, and parsley before mixing it together with 2 eggs. The differences seem to suggest you can be flexible about quantity of liver, bread and egg. It also says you can serve with cabbage and an onion sauce. I was checking here to see what 8 rolls would measure out to be. 2 cups of fresh crumb seems to be about half that, not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Make your dumplings very small if you don't want a strong livery flavor. Use very good broth, like homemade veal broth, if you want to impart something tasty to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
add 1/2 tsp dried marjoram, 1 onion + 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsely sauteed then added to mixture. Add into liver dumpling mix 1 clove crushed garlic. Perfect in clear beef broth. Wet hands and drop dumplings into boiling soup instead of wet spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is my first foray into cooking/eating liver. I didn't care for these, not did my liver-hating husband. But my picky toddler liked them. Go figure. I'll probably try freezing the rest and saving them all for her. We used cow liver, added an onion and some herbs, and fried instead of boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I have a very hard time eating liver, and I've been looking for a recipe that makes it manageable, and this recipe did the trick. I added some onion and a few other seasonings, and ate them with some mustard on the side (I fried them instead of boiling) and they were really yummy. Even better, my kids loved them! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
After reading the reviews I modified this recipe adding 1 medium diced oinion, extra salt and seasoning. At the advice of RATKIN412's review I dropped these by spoon in to a well greased pan and fried them like patties. Our son who absolutely hates liver and will not eat it no matter how I disguise it, had thirds. It was a hit! I served it with a side of mustard to dip it in. The kids loved it! I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I liked this recipe, but found it a bit bland. I added 1 finely chopped onion, and 2 T. of oregano, as well as doubling the salt. I then cooked it in broth... cheers, Wayne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Personally, I don't like liver dunplings, but my family loves them. They all raved about these, but I altered the recipe slightly. I soaked about 4 small day old white bread dinner rolls in some milk (just enough to cover the rolls), until the rolls absored all the milk. I added the milk soaked rolls (but not any excess milk) to the liver dumpling mixture. I also added some more bread crumbs to make the dumpling mixture a little easier to form the balls. These were a huge hit. They were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
My husband liked this recipe. I made the mixture, and half I boiled and then fried, and the other half I just made into the little patties and simply shallow fried. The simply fried ones were better. I added cayenne pepper to the recipe. I will make this again, it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Liver was one of my favourites as a child, and this way of cooking it was very enjoyable. My mum makes great Liver (traditional with bacon and onions), and I've tried to emulate it, but usually end up overcooking it. NOT a problem with this recipe - easy to make and very enjoyable, you never know maybe my husband will enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States