Little Meat Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by cchellez
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Some modifications to this one, but the main thing was bringing a freshness to the recipe and adding flavor to the meat. I used extra lean ground beef from a farmers market which resulted in very little fat unlike others are experiencing. I also subbed out the Italian seasoning for freshly chopped basil with dried thyme and oregano, with some chili pepper flake as well as a teaspoon of sea salt and a few cranks of fresh ground pepper to add flavour. I didn't have ritz crackers so I used progresso italian bread crumbs. Other reviewers used mini loaf pans and I suggest skipping that. Make your loaves small and use the 9 x 13. Mine stayed intact the whole way through, browned nicely all the way around and again, very little grease. The one thing that the recipe doesn't say is how much sauce to use to coat while baking. I used a heaping teaspoon and let it bake for 40 minutes, then added another teaspoon before baking another 5 to 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe turned out great. I didn't have any sausage on hand so I just used hamburger meat. The only change I made was the addition of about 1/3 cup of ground chilies (just because I had some and wanted to try). It turned out great and I've recommended it to friends already. I'll definitely use this recipe again. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Tasty little things... followed to the letter except for halving the recipe and making smaller portions (45 minutes was perfect for cooking 1/4 lb loaves) and adding in some Mexican 3-cheese blend instead of all the parmesan. Also tried the suggestion of putting them on a wire rack in a baking pan... no grease! Served with broccoli and biscuits. They were a hit with my hard-to-cook-for husband. We're looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch tomorrow, even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hogan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is one of the best meat loaves I have ever tried! It was so good that when I made it for dinner tonight Mick ate 4 BIG pieces! And he usually does not care to much for meat loaf and as far as the grease goes, people were saying there was to much grease in the pan after the loaf was cooked but there is very little if you use a good quality sausage and hamburger. ie; low fat content. I gave it 5 stars! Oh, and I wanted to mention that the sauce Elizabeth uses for this meat loaf would make GREAT baked beans as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scherryl °F
Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I was on the hunt for a quick, easy, and somewhat healthy meat loaf recipe and I stumbled across this one. It's just my husband and I - so I actually cut the recipe in half by simply eliminating the sausage so we wouldn't be eating the same thing every night for a week! I also wanted to make it a little healthier so I thought that would help some. I also used the leanest ground beef I could find. I think if I used a meat with a little more fat in it, it would have been even better! I will say I might add some vinegar to the sauce next time. It is a little too sweet for my taste so I would like to add something to cut it a bit to make it a little tangier. When you mix it up, just give it a taste and tweak it if need be. I did use dark brown sugar - since that all I had on hand - so that might have made it taste a little sweater. Cutting the recipe in half made four little loafs - perfect portions for us! Overall, it was an decent dish - one that I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I thought the sauce was a little too sweet, but overall a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This meatloaf was excellent. Great taste. Love the sauce on top. I threw in a little chopped pepper and a whole garlic clove chopped. It came out awesome. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Porteus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Delicious! I used 20oz ground turkey and 2 cloves of minced garlic, as those were the ingredients I had available. Baked for 60 minutes and they were done perfectly. (They started on the top shelf, with a tray of cut up potatoes roasting on the bottom shelf. I rotated them about 20-25 minutes into the cooking process so the potatoes could brown up nicely.) Great the next day for a meat loaf sandwich, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was the best recipe for meatloaf ever and now I don't make it any other way. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Bond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Did not like these at all. I think they would be better either with sausage or meat but not both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States