Little Meat Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My husband gave this "3.5" and I give it "4.5" so we split the difference. He is not a big beef fan, so that he enjoyed this recipe says a lot. It was very moist and tasty. It tasted like neither sausage nor ground beef. I did make a few changes. I was out of ketchup, so used an 8oz can of tomato sauce in its place. This worked well. I also sprayed the pan with Pam. It's still very messy. I didn't use a muffin pan as suggested, because ours needs a good cleaning first. I will definitely try that next time. Thanks for a great one! This is surely a keeper in our house. (Added: We now use this mix ALL the time. We freeze it in thirds, and use it to make not only meatloaves, but also hamburgers and meatballs. We love this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I followed this recipe except for using 2lbs of ground beef (I don't care for sausage). It was EXCELLENT!! I've probably tried 10 different meatloaf recipes and the is by far THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I love this meatloaf and get tons of recipe requests for it from friends. Changes I've made...I use all very low fat hamburger instead of sausage. I add about 1/3 of the ketchup mixture into the meatloaf. I used italian bread crumbs instead of ritz crackers. This meatloaf is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
My favorite meatloaf recipe by far. I use Ground beef sometimes and substitude the crackers with oatmeal because it is quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is an excellent Meat Loaf! I used 1 lb. of ground turkey instead of the pork because it's what I had on hand. Turned out great. Perfect portion size for a family, eveyone enjoyed having their own. And, no guess work on whether or not the middle of the large loaf is cooked through. Thanks for posting this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I had high hopes considering all of the rave reviews. The beef/sausage combination gives a nice texture, but the taste is rather bland, Without the sauce, it has little flavor. I may stick with the meat combination, and add green peppers, diced tomatoes, and some minced garlic to enhance the Italian seasonings of this recipe the next time I make meatloaf. Adding some of the sauce to the loaves may help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
We did not really like the way this tasted at all. Additionally, the presentation was not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My husband, who swears no one cooks as good as his Mom, said it was the best meatloaf he had ever tasted, hands down. Thanks for an awesome recipe and outdoing my mother in law!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and used shredded cheese. I also added a little more italian seasoning. I cut back on the sugar, and used a mix of bbq sauce and ketchup for the topping. Tasted great. My 15 year old daughter, who claims not to like meatloaf, liked it. It's always helpful to read the reviews for ideas! Thanks everyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Until now, my husband despised meatloaf. With this recipe, I have converted him to a meatloaf lover. I made it for dinner, and he had it for breakfast and lunch the next day. I substituted breadcrumbs for the crackers, reduced the amount of sausage and brown sugar as other reviewers suggested, and doubled the amount of sauce I made. I put 1/2 the sauce on top of the recipe and simmered the rest to use as a dipping sauce. I also left off topping it with Parmesan. This recipe goes into the "make often" recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States