Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I am in the last stages of making this dish and my husband is going CRAZY! The smell that is filling our house is incredible! He's been over here sneeking bites and "hangin' around" while I am trying to get this thing done and on the table! He can hardly wait! I decided to take a bite of one of the meatballs and OMG! I am transported back to the time I lived in Turkey. I am THRILLED because THIS captures the taste of our Adana kebab that I loved so much! I have said this before and I'll say it again...Chef John is THE MAN!! Well done, Sir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Came out perfectly. It did take some time but it was easy enough to make. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We really liked the taste. Nice flavor. Next time I will add more marinara sauce and broth. Unless I did something wrong, I had a lot of meatballs and not much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with GREAT results. I served this with penne pasta lightly coated with bechamel (white) sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Wow! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
AMAZING! To make this gluten free, I subbed a frozen GF waffle (just chopped it in my food processor) for the bread crumbs and I used sour cream in lieu of the greek yogurt. I also added A LOT of crushed red peppers. Very spicy - just the way I like it! Because I made these as an appetizer for a party and I was running errands, I made the sauce on the stove top and baked the meatballs as directed. But instead of adding the 'balls to the sauce on the stove top, I poured the hot sauce over the meatballs and continued baking (eventually bringing the temp down to 375) for about 30 minutes. Rave reviews! This is totally a great way to use a random eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
this was so simple to prepare and tasted delish. the meatballs were so so tender! loved the idea of mixing the greek yogurt w/the egg and crumbs first. I did add all the spices as listed but also added a heaping 1/2 tsp. of Kibseh spice as well. also added some parsley to the meatballs, and roasted the eggplant cubes, onion, and garlic. a splash of red wine. the only thing I can see that is a bit off is the proportions of the sauce and chicken broth. I had to almost double it but perhaps it is because I added some crimini mushrooms and roasted peppers so the sauce had quite a full body. this is a keeper! so easy and again the balls are so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! I cut the lamb with some pork, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly - DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Just made tonight and the sauce itself is wonderfully delicious and I could eat it on its own. I had to substitute ground pork for lamb as my store was out of ground lamb, but still very good. Only negative thing is that in my opinion there is way too much salt in the meatball mixture, other than that I will be making again....and again, and doubling the eggplant/sauce part of it!! I ate mine over top of jasmine rice tonight. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Panda
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Everyone loved this dish. Another winner from Chef John. The mini lamb meatballs came out very tender and juicy. It is a perfect meal for 3-4 people. The eggplant sauce was just has right amount of spice. A plus is that the meat balls didn't take very long to make, the squeezing method works very well. Carry on Chef John. I am a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Panda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States