Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and well worth the wait to eat. For me, what really made the difference is using actual Greek Yogurt as compared to plain North American yogurt - the consistency is thicker. I served it with Barilla rotini that I put shredded marble cheese and feta on top then added the meatball marinara sauce.The only thing I might change when I make it again is to add some red pepper flakes to the burgers to get an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was really amazing. Don't change the recipe too much. Just try it as written. Oh, and don't leave out the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Love this recipe it reminds me of the Middle East. The eggplant make it unctuous and delicious. I like to add fresh cilantro to the meatball preparation and I use white bread soaked in milk rather than the breadcrumbs and yogurt. I also like to add some Harissa to the meat mixture but the recipe works very well as is and is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This is much better on the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Loved this!Just the right amount spice .I will make this over and over to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was delicious! I increased the servings to 8 to feed my growing 15 year old son - who ate 3 plates by himself. Next time I make it I'm going to decrease the cumin as it was a little strong, but I'm pretty sure that was a result of improper measuring on my part. Great dish, this is going to become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slim2529

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made the meatballs only to put in pita breads with spinach and a sauce of plain yogurt and lemon juice. This recipe rocks! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Delicious! Followed recipe for the most part but added 1/2 lb ground turkey to extend recipe. Am on Weight Watchers so made a few changes. Added 1/2 can Rotelle which i had in freezer and 28oz. can of diced tomatoes in place of "marinara" Did not saute veggies in olive oil--just dumped all together. Lightened up by using fat free sour cream in place of Greek yogurt (that's what i had on hand) & Egg Beaters in place of egg, and low sodium vegetable broth. Added 1/2 lb mushrooms. The liquid cooked down somewhat but I felt this made the sauce chunkier, which i liked. I like the taste and texture of this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Even though I made this with TWP instead of lamp. This tasted great ! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Reasonably simple to make, as I find most of the recipes here at allrecipes,com to be. As ever, the flavor profiles created here are at least measurably familiar to the cuisine they are supposed to be emulating and this one does so, as well. I did find that I needed to add more liquid once the sauce had been reduced by half--opted for additional marinara sauce a it turned out. Pretty good. A bit of time more than I was inclined to put in tonight, but still, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States