Little Broccoli Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Broccoli Bites. 5 stars I tried this recipe loved it but changed to fresh broccoli,fresh onion, and instead of poultry seasoning, I used Garlic seasoning,I added fresh caulflower as well as the broccoli and rolled them in dried breadcrumbs,they were terrific, I intend using this recipe at Christmas. Merry Christmas from AUSTRALIA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
These were a hit at my Christmas party. They are kind of like a meatless meatball...or as someone commented, like a little individual bite of stuffing without the turkey. I wasn't sure how the margarine would mix in with the rest of the ingredients, so I used a pastry blender to cut it directly into the 2 cups of bread crumbs before adding that to the rest of the ingredients. I also added just a little oregano for extra flavor. After adding the milk, I let the mixture soak for about a 1/2 hour before forming into balls. It would probably be OK to let this mixture sit in the refrigerator for hours before forming into the balls if it fits your schedule better. Next time I make it, I might reduce the amount of margarine to 1/3 cup--I just didn't see the need for that much margarine. Also, I had no problem with the final product sticking to the pan after baking as others commented. Maybe they used "reduced fat" margarine (I did not). Next time I think I might try adding crumbled cooked bacon in with the mixture. That would add a little more flavor, although I thought the flavor was fine as it was. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
OK, I played with this recipe! For one thing I thought they were bland, so after I had baked three, to sample, I added a healthy dash of Hot Sauce. Sampled again and still thought they lacked something. So I tried them with salsa. I liked that. So I baked some more and flattened the balls in order to have more area for the Salsa! I may try this recipe again, but I will certainly play around with more spices and perhaps cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon. I did prefer the flattened product. It is a fine basic recipe, and easily changed to accommodate personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These were great and toddler-approved. They don't scream "You're eating broccoli" and they're portable (in fact, my oldest daughter wants them in her lunchbox). Be sure your broccoli is drained well. I simplified the preparation by chopping everything together in my food processor, scooping balls of the "dough" with a cookie scoop, and placing on the baking sheet. I did bake them longer than stated, for approximately 25 minutes. I look forward to making these again and adding different ingredients to get a variety of flavors: Spinach & feta, red pepper & goat cheese, and adding red pepper to the original recipe would be perfect for Christmas! These would also be good with some added garlic. Thanks for a fun, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These are great! I used fresh broccoli, and I am sure I had much more than the recipe called for, so they were filled with broccoli. The breading mix just held them together. These were a big hit last night. However, I will have to say they are NOT good when they get cold - hot out of the oven ONLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
YES 5 stars! Be sure though to grease the cookie sheet very well as my first batch stuck a little. I also cut back on the onion just a tad and next time I'll use fresh onion as suggested by the other reviewer. I think too that if one doesn't have any plain bread crumbs, seasoned stuffing could be used and cut back on the other spices? Thank you and I just love this site. Happy cooking and a blessed Christmas to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Made thesew/cheddar since that's what I had. Very good and easy. Served some brown mustard ont he side for dipping/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Excellent! I followed advice of others and seasoned them more as well as flattened them a little. Great base recipe! I used fresh broccoli, fresh parsley, fresh onion, plain bread crumbs and all sorts of seasonings. Will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
It was good; it tasted like stuffing with broccoli, but who doesn't like stuffing? It didn't look as appealing as it tasted, I must admit. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
These are great! I used a 16oz bag of broccoli, and served them at a party. They are great hot, warm or room temp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States