Lit'l Smokies® With Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
The problem I had with this recipe was the brown sugar melted and began to caramelize before the bacon was done. The brown sugar was over cooked by the time the bacon was brown. The next time I cook them I'll cook half way then springle with the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Something I have found that helps with cleanup with this recipe is that I line the pan with foil. There is much grease from the smokies and it is much easier to dump the foil after baking the smokies!! My family and friends love this snack!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I make these during the holidays, but instead of brown sugar, I bake them with BBQ sauce. My family loves them. (You can also try mushrooms wrapped in bacon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These are always a crow pleaser whenever I serve them. I usually broil these for about 5 minutes so the bacon gets nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Awesome for a pot luck, always a crowd pleaser. Thick bacon takes forever to cook and smokies start to get almost burnt so I use regular slice bacon. I toss the wrapped smokies in a bowl with brown sugar then sprinkle what is left over the smokies. Foil line the pan (for quick clean-up) and cook on a cookie rack over the pan. To keep warm, toss them in the crock pot on warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinbuzb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
You can't go wrong with bacon! I omitted the brown sugar entirely (I don't care for sweet foods). If I were to make again, I think I would rotate the pan halfway through to ensure even cooking - some of the bacon ended up super crispy and some of it need to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I make these several times a year for my family and for extened family get-togethers. They are the first to go! The only thing I do differently is to bake them slow at 300 for an hour and a half until all the brown sugar is melted. Using basting syringe to draw off some of the bacon grease helps make these a bit more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love these. The only thing I do different is ....after cooking them, I put them in a crockkpot to keep them warm and pour some maple syrup over them.. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are OFF THE HOOK!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Rice Lomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Use thin bacon or it takes forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States