Lit'l Smokies® With Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I make these several times a year for my family and for extened family get-togethers. They are the first to go! The only thing I do differently is to bake them slow at 300 for an hour and a half until all the brown sugar is melted. Using basting syringe to draw off some of the bacon grease helps make these a bit more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Something I have found that helps with cleanup with this recipe is that I line the pan with foil. There is much grease from the smokies and it is much easier to dump the foil after baking the smokies!! My family and friends love this snack!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I make these during the holidays, but instead of brown sugar, I bake them with BBQ sauce. My family loves them. (You can also try mushrooms wrapped in bacon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These are always a crow pleaser whenever I serve them. I usually broil these for about 5 minutes so the bacon gets nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
The problem I had with this recipe was the brown sugar melted and began to caramelize before the bacon was done. The brown sugar was over cooked by the time the bacon was brown. The next time I cook them I'll cook half way then springle with the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
You can't go wrong with bacon! I omitted the brown sugar entirely (I don't care for sweet foods). If I were to make again, I think I would rotate the pan halfway through to ensure even cooking - some of the bacon ended up super crispy and some of it need to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Use thin bacon or it takes forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These turned out very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good. I do think that they need to be turned half way through baking. Mine were half crispy half soggy bacon. But they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is FANTASTIC. The last time I made these, I wrapped the sausages in bacon and covered them with the brown sugar eary in the morning the day I was serving them. I covered them in foil and put them in the fridge so that I could pull them out and bake them later that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Caudill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States