Lit'l Smokies® With Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
this was a hit at our party, there were none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are pretty good but a few tips that I find really helpful. 1. Use thin cut bacon, the thick cut won't crisp up properly. 2. Due to the short cooking time if you are still having trouble with the bacon not crisping stick them in the microwave until just beginning to cook and then wrap the smokies. 3. Add 1/8 - 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper to the brown sugar mixture. Also I always cook mine in the smoker to add even more flavor. 250 for 1 1/2 hours and they are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoke and Heat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Been making these for years. Thin cheap bacon works best. I usually roll them in brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamkopp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love these. The only thing I do different is ....after cooking them, I put them in a crockkpot to keep them warm and pour some maple syrup over them.. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great recipe. The only thing I did different instead of just sprinkeling the br. sugar on the smokies I rubbed in the br. sugar onto each wrapped smokie. Used about 1cup and 1/2 of br. sugar. Have made these quite a few times in the last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are always a hit when I bring them to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Family loved it. Nice change from smokies & bbq sauce. Super easy as well. Had a little of a hard time getting the sugar to "melt" or glaze. But still easy & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My mom makes these for holidays and Super Bowl Sunday. We love them! Great, easy appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've made these dozens of times. The trick to perfect smokies is to put the brown sugar on the DAY before and let it soak in overnight before cooking. And yes, line your pan with foil! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Out of this world! My mom made these Christmas night - they were forgotten in the oven and ended up pretty scorched. Even so - they were still delish! Can't wait to make them for tomorrow night's bowl game (GO BIG RED)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States