Lit'l Smokies® With Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made these for a Christmas Eve drop-in and all loved it. Even the children. Followed the recipe exactly. Cooked on a broiler rake. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are so tasty! I used the same ingredients however I laced the bacon strips in brown sugar first before rolling them, I also used a broiler pan, instead of a baking pan so the grease fell right through and cooked these at 350 for about 45 min. I lined the bottom of the broiler pan with foil for an easier clean up – it was still kind of messy but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffalosMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are OFF THE HOOK!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Rice Lomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I usually make my lit'l smokies differently. When I saw this recipe I decided to mix it up a bit and try it out. These were amazing! I made them for a get together with friends and they were gone in no time! I will make sure to double the batch next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I have made these many times, they are always great! For parties I keep them warm in the crockpot after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
What is not to love? Bacon wrapped sausage..I slid a slice of pickled jalapeno over the sausage then wrapped with thin sliced bacon, dropped into the deep fryer to crisp the bacon then coated with brown sugar and put into oven to melt the sugar. It was the first thing gone for our Christmas snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Hard to believe that just a few simple ingredients could produce such a tasty appetizer! I've never actually made them this way, but I have a friend at work who always brings these to our employee Christmas party, and they are gone about as quickly a my caramel brownies are. I would say stick them under the broiler again for just a minute or two before serving, if you are making these ahead of time. So much better than just plan ole' smokies in BBQ sauce. I am going to try the all beef or turkey smokies wrapped in turkey bacon since neither my husband nor I eat beef (I just make an exception for these, haha.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is the best way to have little smokies. I make then in a crock pot with BBQ sauce and dip them in cheese and also wrap them in dough and make pigs in a blanket and this is hands down my families favorite way to have these. I used regular cut bacon hickery smoked and I did put the brown sugar on them. I should have put down tin foil on my baking sheet first because it was a mess and hard to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Awesome for a pot luck, always a crowd pleaser. Thick bacon takes forever to cook and smokies start to get almost burnt so I use regular slice bacon. I toss the wrapped smokies in a bowl with brown sugar then sprinkle what is left over the smokies. Foil line the pan (for quick clean-up) and cook on a cookie rack over the pan. To keep warm, toss them in the crock pot on warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinbuzb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These are very yummy!!!...but a few suggestions..instead of sprinkling with sugar roll them..sprinkling does not give you the sweetness it needs. Also...bake the non a rake so that they are up out of the grease which will leave them soggy if cooked in it...Was a major crowd please..VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States