Lit'l Smokies® Mummy Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These were great. We're more fond of using hotdogs now but for a smaller serving, these are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fun, easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were the hit at the party! They are very tasty. I used a bottle of French's Yellow Mustard for the faces. I squirted straight out of the bottle, but it came out a little too thick to make the faces look cute. I would recommend either a thicker mustard or use a thin icing tip with mustard to make them look really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Give yourself plenty more time than the recipe suggests for prep time. It took me an hour to make 60 mummies (doubled recipe) ready to cook. I used a pizza cutter to cut each dough rectangle into 12-14 (long side) strips. Then I'd roll one strip away from the rectangle and as I did I would roll it out a little until it was almost double in length. I would then use one whole strip to do the bottom of the mummy. I would roll out the next strip and use half of it to do the top of the head. This seemed to speed things up once I figured that part out...though it still took a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Made this last year for Halloween and they were a HIT! We dipped them in blood (ketchup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Cute but I don't think its worth the extra effort/time just to make mummies when you can make pigs in the blanket without much hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Anna-Bat
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Used full size hot dogs instead of lit'l smokies. I love how easy and delicious this recipe is, and that my dad and I can eat it together at random times during the year (not just hallowe'en!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Clearly I don't need to rate this recipe as so many others already have but I guess I just feel the need to put in my "two cents"! Definitely 5 stars on taste, although whoever decided the prep time was only 20 minutes either had like 10 go go gadget arms or a horde of little elves helping them! In reality they are INCREDIBLY time consuming, especially if you put the faces on (took me like 2.5 hours to wrap and draw faces on 2 small packages (~60?). Granted, I can be a bit of a perfectionist so it's probably possible to do it in less time but I really don't see how you could do more than about 1 per minute so seriously plan on at least an hour for the prep work. I don't like yellow mustard so I used BBQ sauce, which I thickened by cooking down in the microwave (not too much or it just makes a huge ball on the end of your toothpick). When you bake them the faces darken even more so you can clearly see them, even if they are a little faint when you first draw them on. I will definitely make these again but in the future I will just quickly wrap the croissant around the smokie instead; it was fun to do, ONCE- but never again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These are pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very cute for a child's halloween party, and they taste delicious as well! Thanks for the creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States