Lithuanian Kugela Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I've always used my mom's recipe and wanted to try another recipe just to see how it compares... wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Wow, this brings back memories of family Christmas parties. I've been looking for a Kugela recipe, now that Aunt Pat has passed, and finally found a very good one. Very easy to make, but the directions for the egg/flour mixture are a little confusing. Over all, a very good recipe. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
A little plain, but otherwise tasty, and good to reheat. Needs onions or something for flavor. Nice to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I'm not Lithuanian and never tasted Kugela before. I had a lot of potatoes and not a lot else, so a search lead me to this recipe. Grating the potatoes and onion was kind of a pain. The end result was good although not especially memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I thought this was good. But it was a bit too bland for me without adding garlic salt. I think maybe some cheese if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heilwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
My husband was Lithuanian and taught me how to cook Lithuanian. First of all, I never use flour in my potato pancakes or Kugel. When you squeeze out the water from the potatoes into a bowl, let it sit for a minute then drain off the water carefully and at the bottom of the bowl you will find the starch from the potatoes. Take that and return it to the grated potatoes, this will help to hold them together. I like to serve them with fried salt pork, onion (fried nice and brown) and cream mixture. Just pour it over the dumplings after they are cooked and enjoy! Yummy! Yummy! P.S. Also, adding some evaporated milk to the potatoes will keep them white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I didn't see the flour...my great-grandmother never added flour, either. I would omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I am half Lithuanian, half English and was worried this dish would never compare to my grandfather's. Thank you for the recipe! I did use a food processor for the potatoes,(against my better judgement)because of a time constraint, and was extremely pleased. Grandad would definetly object to this, but for first timers this might be an option. Just remember to strain the water from the potatoes afterwards. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Made this for a potluck and this was nearly the only thing left. It was pretty bland. I would add some cheese and some more seasonings if I ever made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Do you grate the potatoes finely the way my mother did? I prefer to coarsely grate them as for hash browns. Which is traditional?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States