Lite Italian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My first homemade Italian dressing and I found the one. This is a very nice dressing. I added a few cloves of crushed garlic and some Herbs De Providence though as I thought it needed a little something extra. A great base to make it just what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Needs double the sugar, replaced corn oil with cold pressed grape seed oil, or you could use avocado oil. Also needed way more spices- garlic, basil etc. Really the only good thing about this was she used very healthy apple cider vinegar instead of reg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This recipe saved the day! A Saturday at the shore in the summer is not the time to hit the supermarket. I was caught without any Italian dressing for the pasta salad I was making. When I saw this was Lillian's recipe I knew the day was saved! Thanks Lillian for such a terrific recipe, it's SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just whipped this one up, added a clove of garlic, 2 small sprigs of fresh marjoram and a few fresh basil leaves, chilled it for a couple of hours, mixed some in fresh homemade pasta with chopped tomatoes and green pepper, gave it a little taste test.....oh my!!!! Cant wait til its chilled completely!!! Fantastic! Will NEVER buy bottled dressing again. Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
i used olive oil since i didnt have corn oil. this is nothing special its pretty tangy but its really basic. it worked fine on a simple pasta salad with tomatoes and cheese. if i make it again i would cut the vinegar some but not up the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Basic dressing. I did not use the corn oil only because I did not have any. I ended up using this as a base recipe once I tried it and added more spices and some fresh minced garlic. This would be good for any kind of salad you'd want to make, just add spices to match your meal (ex: basil, red pepper flake for italian dressing or rice wine vinegar, green onion, fresh ginger, sesame seeds for asian dressing......).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Light and refreshing - just as the submitter states! Very easy to put together and tastes great. I didn't have corn oil, so I subbed a little veg. oil and added a bit of dried basil as well. Perfect over mixed greens and fresh tomatoes! Thanks for a great recipe Lillian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made two servings for myself which was the perfect amount. Omitted the corn oil because I don't have it but it was still delicious. Will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Fantastic! I normally don't rate/review recipes unless I try them as is, and I did have to make one substitution (I didn't have corn oil, so I used canola oil)... but it was so great I had to review it anyway. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BennetDarcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this to go on Sylvia's Easy Greek Salad, wanted something lite. I didn't have corn oil so just left it out. I did already had fresh oregano and parsley for the salad so used that instead of dry herbs. I did mix in a dash or two of powdered garlic and less salt...trying to cut out salt in my diet. This was lite enough to let the fresh taste of the salad come through and didn't have that heavy oil or vinegar taste....thanks Lillian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States