Lite Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This cake is amazing! I like to serve it immediately (without refrigerating 1-3 days); the longer the cake sits, the less fluffy it is. The frosting tastes almost like cream cheese frosting - and it's low/no-fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used light coconut milk instead of water in the cake mix. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This cake was excellent! I only refrigerated for a few hours. I love coconut and really liked that this cake was not overly sweet. The sour cream seemed to really tone down the sweetness. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Best coconut cake ever! I didn't use light ingredients though. I used regular sour cream and finely shredded coconut in the frosting, then I added extra flake coconut to the frosted cake. My secret was to use a boxed white cake mix (which I sifted) and used the one that calls for 1/3 cup oil (not the one that calls for 2 TBPS oil), and I used EXTRA VIRGIN COCONUT OIL. What a great coconut flavor. The flavor really does get better the second and third day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Excellent lowfat cake! I made this last night, and we dug into it after it had chilled a few hours. It was good, but had a distinctible sour cream taste. I cut my husband a piece for work this morning and, of course, sampled a bite myself, and it was even better - the sour cream taste was not as strong. So, I think that the directions are indeed right, when they say to leave the cake for a few days. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I made this for a large get together. It was among 8 other desserts, some bakery bought. This was the greatest hit of all. Everyone asked me for the recipe. It was delicious. Not too sweet. I decorated it with tiny dried blueberries. I would definitly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
A Keeper! Used coconut milk in place of the water in the cake mix directions. Definitely better the next day. You can't go wrong with this one! Edit: Used coconut milk in place of the water, and for the whipped topping (1 1/2 cups heavy cream whipped with 1/3 cup sugar) then add the remaining cup filling. (Doesn't make it lite... but tastes soooo much better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
OMG!!! So delicious! I am not big on coconut but this was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly as is. I just added to the decorations. I mixed some chopped almonds and mini chocolate chips. (Like an Almond Joy) Pressed them onto the sides and a small circle on the top center. Added a slight sprinkling of coconut on the whipped cream frosting on top. Looked as good as it tasted! Either way, with or without the nuts, this cake is top notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very delicious but a bit messy to cut. Very coconuty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
This cake is delicious! Perfect to serve for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States