Lite Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
When I saw that the primary ingredient for the icing in this recipe was sour cream, I knew it was just a matter of time before I had to try it out! I love any alternative to the thick, overly sweet butter cream (or worse, fondant :P) style icing you often come across-- yick. Anyway, this recipe does not disappoint! The trick though is, don't use store bought, dried out coconut-- freshly grated is the only way to go! I'm the last person to choose to make my own life harder (with fresh) when there's an easier alternative (dried, store bought) but the difference is enormous! It's the huge quantity of coconut oil in the freshly grated stuff that's released overnight (or longer) into the sour cream that gives it that incredible flavour-- the dried stuff just doesn't have nearly enough of it! Trust me on this, you'll never go back. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
SO good! And only 289 calories a serving...even better. Tastes almost exactly like a coconut cake my mom makes that is 1200 calories per slice, no joke. Although, I did use light coconut milk in place of the water for the cake, and coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. And I used egg whites only, so I'm not sure how the calories equate after these changes, but I am sure it isn't 1200! This is SO yummy and even better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Awesome! So good and not as sweet as most cakes. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It was very good but not 5 stars worthy. I did use coconut milk instead of water in the cake batter and it was delicous. I made 2 cakes instead of one huge one. I served it to a group of women and they loved it. It will go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
A Keeper! Used coconut milk in place of the water in the cake mix directions. Definitely better the next day. You can't go wrong with this one! Edit: Used coconut milk in place of the water, and for the whipped topping (1 1/2 cups heavy cream whipped with 1/3 cup sugar) then add the remaining cup filling. (Doesn't make it lite... but tastes soooo much better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I made it a little lighter by using Pillsbury Sugar Free Cake mix and ideal substitute sugar. I also made it into a sheetcake instead of layers. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Delicious! I made this for Memorial Day in my checkerboard cake pans. I added a tablespoon of coconut extract to the cake mix for added coconut flavor. The frosting and filling were very light, and I liked the tang from the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great! Loved it. Even those who don't love coconut loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Wonderful recipe that everyone in my family enjoyed. I used mostly Splenda in the recipe and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This cake is delicious and easy to make. It's my new favorite. I had lite coconut milk in my pantry so I used that instead of water. Next time I'll try it with water. Everyone loved it. You would never guess it was low fat. I loved the sour cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States