Lite Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
SO good! And only 289 calories a serving...even better. Tastes almost exactly like a coconut cake my mom makes that is 1200 calories per slice, no joke. Although, I did use light coconut milk in place of the water for the cake, and coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. And I used egg whites only, so I'm not sure how the calories equate after these changes, but I am sure it isn't 1200! This is SO yummy and even better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Awesome! So good and not as sweet as most cakes. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It was very good but not 5 stars worthy. I did use coconut milk instead of water in the cake batter and it was delicous. I made 2 cakes instead of one huge one. I served it to a group of women and they loved it. It will go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
A Keeper! Used coconut milk in place of the water in the cake mix directions. Definitely better the next day. You can't go wrong with this one! Edit: Used coconut milk in place of the water, and for the whipped topping (1 1/2 cups heavy cream whipped with 1/3 cup sugar) then add the remaining cup filling. (Doesn't make it lite... but tastes soooo much better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I made it a little lighter by using Pillsbury Sugar Free Cake mix and ideal substitute sugar. I also made it into a sheetcake instead of layers. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Delicious! I made this for Memorial Day in my checkerboard cake pans. I added a tablespoon of coconut extract to the cake mix for added coconut flavor. The frosting and filling were very light, and I liked the tang from the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great! Loved it. Even those who don't love coconut loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Wonderful recipe that everyone in my family enjoyed. I used mostly Splenda in the recipe and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This cake is delicious and easy to make. It's my new favorite. I had lite coconut milk in my pantry so I used that instead of water. Next time I'll try it with water. Everyone loved it. You would never guess it was low fat. I loved the sour cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe and the frosting had an odd sour cream flavor to it. It wasn't unbearable but I definitely won't make it the same way again. I also added dry roasted coconut on top which added a whole layer of new flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States