Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This is excellent. I have made some adjustments to the recipe to make this low fat. I replaced the cup of cake flour with a cup of whole wheat flour. So, that makes 2 cups of whole wheat flour total. Instead of the vegetable oil, I used one cup of non-sweetened apple sauce. I have also reduced the 1/2 cup of white sugar to only 3 tbsp because the apple sauce is sweet naturally. I replaced 3 eggs with only the egg white, buttermilk with low fat milk. I used 2 cups of carrots and added 1/2 tsp of cloves and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
543 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
to further lessen the fat i just use the egg whites, and i replaced the vegetable oil with apple sauce aand one tbsp of oil(to absorb the vitamin A from the carrots), i also used 2cups of whole wheat flour and added some nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
After reading some reviews that it was bland, I decided to add an additional 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. After I finished baking it, it was still pretty bland.. I don't know what it's missing. But the texture is perfect; it's just the taste that is lacking a bit. I would have given it 3.5 stars, but I give it 4 stars since it was healthier. BTW: http://cake.allrecipes.com/az/69402.asp is much better. It's also low fat, but the taste is phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poofietomato
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Wow! I've never tried any baked goods with carrots in it, but this was great! I had a bag of baby carrots that were starting to get dried up, and wanted to use them up. I cut the sugar and made muffins instead of a cake. I only had whole wheat flour on hand, but it was still soft and fluffy. I also replaced all the fat with a couple heaping spoonfuls of applesauce. I think whipping the egg whites really made a difference! I used skim milk because I didn't have any buttermilk. I sprinkled some shredded coconut, sugar, oats, and cinnamon on top of the muffins. They're gorgeous, delicious, and super healthy! I can't wait to try this recipe as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Yumm.. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly... It turned out great and was gone in no time. The second time, I substituted the oil with applesauce and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup.. I wouldn't recommend that. The cake sank after I took it out from the oven, and did not have much of a taste. I still liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emiliania huxleyi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Bremen, Bremen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
If this is "light" then surely I will never make a "regular" carrot cake! I added a cream cheese frosting, and it was great! My husband, who usually gobbles everything down really fast, actually paused to appreciate and compliment the cake(then he gobbled it down). Next time I am going to make cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
so good! Yummy!! I used all purpose flour and fat free milk instead of buttermilk....it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Very moist for a "lite" cake...it does have significant decreases in fat/calories, though you could never tell by the taste. I did add a bit more carrots because the 1 1/2 cups looked a little scant to me when I folded them in. My DH liked it and my little assistant chef told me it was the BEST carrot cake ever (maybe because she helped!). It was definitely done in 35 minutes. Thanks for making one of our favorite desserts a little less fattening! Thanks for sharing, Marva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This recipe is terrific, and you can reduce the oil a bit too--maybe by 1/6 c. I added an extra 1/2 t. of cinnamon (for 2 total). I also added 1/2 t. of each of these: allspice, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger. I made this into cupcakes, and they were a huge success. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Very good. I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted a combination of sour cream and milk, which worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States