Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
very moist and tasty-addition of nuts would be extra nice!!!! will definately make this one instead of fatty traditional carrot cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
I am fourteen years old and this was my first time ever making a cake from scratch. I made it when I made dinner for my family. They absolutely loved it! At first, I was a bit apprehensive, because some low-fat products aren't very good. But this was wonderful! I must admit my favorite part was when I told them that it was a low-fat cake after they had finished eating it. They were shocked! It tasted even better the second day. It was still wonderfully moist. My sister also put it in the freezer. It was sinful! I frosted it with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting (found on this website) using Neufchatel Cream Cheese. It was so delicious and everyone loved it!!! P.S. I also added a SMALL amount of finely chopped pecans, approximately 1/2 cup or so. It would of been fine without them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Great recipe! The cake came out absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, though i didn't have enough wheat flour left so i just used 2 cups of regular flour, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Very moist for a "lite" cake...it does have significant decreases in fat/calories, though you could never tell by the taste. I did add a bit more carrots because the 1 1/2 cups looked a little scant to me when I folded them in. My DH liked it and my little assistant chef told me it was the BEST carrot cake ever (maybe because she helped!). It was definitely done in 35 minutes. Thanks for making one of our favorite desserts a little less fattening! Thanks for sharing, Marva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Excellent recipe! I made it last night and brought it in today for a coworker's birthday, and everyone loves it. Hard to believe it's low-fat. I added about 1/2 cup of pecans to the recipe, as well as a dash of nutmeg and cloves. I frosted it with the allspice (used cinnamon instead of allspice) cream cheese frosting recipe found on this site (using 2-8 ounce blocks of Neufchatel cream cheese). Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I can't say enough about this cake!. Moist and flavorful without that heavy oily texture. I used the 1 cup of wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour. As another reader suggested, I added a bit more shredded carrots (used 2 cups). Also, I probably added about an 1/8 cup more of the buttermilk because I wanted to make sure the cake would be moist. Next time I make this, I might add even a bit more carrot. Oh, I also added about 3/4 cup finely chopped walnuts which rounded out the flavor! I cheated and frosted it with a canned cream cheese frosting due to timing. I have thrown out my old Carrot cake recipe and replaced it with this one. I'll NEVER make another carrot cake... this one is it, for life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This cake is great! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
this is the first cake in my life that i ever made from scratch. i was so pround of myself when i was done! the cake was so yummy!!! well, i shoud say cupcakes. the recipe makes 24 cupcaeks. i give the recipe four stars instead of five becuase (1) i like denser carrot cakes (2) i like sweeter carrot cakes. so when i make this again (and i will definitely make it again), i'll one less egg white and add more brown sugar? i don't know how much that will change the recipe. if you happen to know or have suggestions, pls let me know, oh! and don't forget how INCREDIBLY MOIST this cake was!!! delicious!! yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This is a great recipe!! I took this to a dinner party, and it got gobbled up. Everyone thought that it was going to be really heavy and fattening, but when I told them how few calories are in it, lots took a second helping. I made it again just a couple days later for my boyfriend's office! I used the all purpose flour hint and added some pecans. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Delicious, light and fluffy. Rises to about an inch in 9x13 so I'll make 1.5 batch next time with a little more carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States