Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Delicious! I made a couple of substitutions: (1) all-purpose flour for whole wheat because, honestly, I don't like whole wheat anything; and (2) 1/3 cup applesauce + 1 Tbsp oil for the fat in order to reduce the fat even more. I also added a little more cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg. The cake was so fluffy, tender, and flavorful. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
It's good. Very light. I reduced brown sugar to 1/2 cup because I don't like things that are too sweet. And I modified the recipe according to other reviewers. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
WONDERFUL! I opted to make these into muffins instead of cake and they turned out fabulous - moist and full of flavour! Like some others, I made a few changes: used 2 cups carrots, cut down brown sugar to 3/4 c, white sugar to 1/4 cup, 2tsp cin, 1/2 tsp each nutmeg and allspice, used only 1 yolk with 3 whites and used a full cup of unsweetened applesauce wtih 1 tbsp of oil. Fantastic with these changes, although I'm sure this recipe is great as written, I just like to reduce some fat and calories where possible. I found these plenty sweet despite my reductions in both sugars, likely due to the applesauce! Will make again for sure, my 3 and 5 year old devoured one each not long after they came out of the muffin pans (which, to note, I only got 17 muffins, not too big, nicely sized).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were very yummy. I used whole wheat flour and applesauce instead of oil. More like muffins than cake with the whole wheat, but perfect for easter breakfast:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised and yet a tad disappointed in this recipe... I made exactly as written and this tasted really good (batter was awesome!), but it did have a slightly spongier consistency than regular cake (but that's to be expected) and the flavor was not as full as I would have liked after baking. And I think that next time I will definitely add more shredded carrot or a little yogurt for extra moisture and some more spices to intensify the flavors a little bit. That said, I made this for my boyfriend for his birthday and he loved it and didn't offer up any criticism at all! It also may have had something to do with the awesome cream cheese frosting on top (Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site with 1 tsp. or so of allspice mixed in and dash more vanilla). All in all, this is a quality recipe! I recommend making as is and then tweaking to your own personal liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Yummy! Added a few spices and a bit less sugar. Even my VERY picky fiance ate it up and asked me to make it again soon. He usually won't touch the healthier treats that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefChloe
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Delicious. Next time, I'd add slightly more cinnamon, but otherwise a big hit! I baked with a bit less sugar and they still turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I just made this cake for the second time last night and it's as good as I remember it! I am by no means a carrot cake fan but this one I love! My children just recently had an opportunity to eat store bought carrot cake (covered in loads of frosting) and they took one bite of that and ran away screaming! I had to convince them to try this cake and when they did they loved loved loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I used the suggestions by the first review and the cake is great! I don't like to cook or be in the kitchen but this was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsnider59

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great recipe! For high altitude bakers, I reduced the baking soda and baking powder both to 3/4 teaspoons. Using a zester grater to shred the carrots makes the cake nice and smooth. I added raisins and actually used a bunch of carrots and the result was a wonderfully moist cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States