Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I used a 6 unit muffin pan for these instead of the cake pan and substituted buttermilk for 2% milk, used whole wheat flour instead of regular flour. Used egg whites instead of eggs and splenda instead of sugar, and they came out very well. Moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
The reason this cake is called "bland" in so many reviews is that it is lacking salt, which is very important to the development of flavor in baked goods. Check your favorite cake recipes with this same amount of flour and you'll find that most of them require anywhere from 1/2 tsp to 1 1/2 tsp of salt. I used 1 tsp when I made the cake, but would increase it to 1 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
We liked the fact that we could do muffins, and had them with breakfast as an alternative to toast a couple mornings with fruit and yogurt. We were going to ice them, then decided to leave them more healthy. Yummy~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Using the suggestions from others,using apple sauce and less sugar,oil and adding crushed pineapple. Did not care for it. Maybe I will try it the way it is written and follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
It was good, but a little dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherihan
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This cake turned out amazing!!!!! very moist and delicious indeed. i cut the recipe in half, used two and a half tablespoons oil with one cup carrots, i added vanilla to two egg whites and i used one yolk, a dash of nutmeg and doubled on the cinnamon plus i only used whole wheat flour but next time ill even reduce the brown sugar coz i can handle less sugary desserts but overall ITS A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherihan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
We really liked this cake - I did frost it with cream cheese frosting but it would have been great without - or made into muffins. I used apple sauce instead of oil and cut the receipe in half but should have used 2 eggs instead of just 1. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmet wannabes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cowiche, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was good but a little dense and heavy, but definitely a good alternative to super fattening carrot cake. I did as others suggested used 1 cup of applesauce, 2 tbl of oil and 2 cups of carrots. I also added about a cup of walnuts and a can of drained crushed pineapple. Will be making this again whan I'm in the mood for carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
The best - very moist and so light in texture, not to mention so tasty!! I added extra shredded carrots, substituted Splenda in place of all sugar, used whole wheat flour, and added apple sauce in place of the oil. Incredible. This will be a staple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I replaced the oil with applesauce and added a tbsp of oil (Enova) as another reviewer suggested. I also subbed plain yogurt for the buttermilk, added more carrot and raisins I had soaked in hot water, and added a tbsp of vanilla. The result was moist, delicious, and sweet enough that we skipped the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States