Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Not as 'lite' as I would have preferred, so I altered the recipe. Firstly, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, 3 egg whites (as specified) and only one egg yolk. I also only used 3 tbsp white sugar and one cup of apple sauce. I also used skim milk instead of buttermilk, and 2 cups of grated carrots. And I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I halved the recipe and baked it in a 8*8 pan, for 25 minutes. Yummy recipe and feels good to know that it's not as fattening as original carrot cake recipes. I added 1/8 tsp salt and about 1/2 cup of chopped nuts because I read in other reviews, that it was a little bland. I think the additions may have added what others may have been missing. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYLINK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
HOW TO MAKE THIS INTO A GOOD CAKE: Add 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp salt, and some walnuts and raisins. Make sure that you use as many cups of grated carrots as flour. No kidding, this is what the cake is lacking. Add these in and you'll have no problems with blandness. I made these into muffins and got 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This recipe is tasty for being lite. I didn't have any cake flour so I just used 2 cups AP flour instead. Also traded the oil for 1 cup unsweetened applesauce. Used more carrots. Maybe too many, because it's very "carroty" tasting. I'm going to add some cream cheese frosting to see if it helps. But over all very tasty. Oh, and I did add some rasins and I was a great touch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brakerme

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I had some carrots I needed to use, so I decided to try this recipe. I halved the recipe and made muffins (got 9, probably could've stretched it and gotten 10). I did not have buttermilk so I added a splash of vinegar to regular milk. Also, I didn't have cake flour, so I just used all purpose flour (sifted). Even though I halved the recipe, I used a generous 1 tsp. of cinnamon. I think the muffins would've been too bland using the amount called for. These turned out well, but I would like to try this again with cake flour to see if the texture is improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Thanks for healthy recipe. I am looking for less butter/oil/sugar recipe. This is great. I reduced sugar at about 25%, added 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence and 150g almond into it. No frosting as I like lite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was as good as I expected a healthier version of Carrot Cake to be. My husband and I enjoyed it with some homemade almond agave nectar low fat cream cheese. My only negative comment is that it was really dry, and spreading the cream cheese on it caused it to fall apart easily. However, the flavor was good and we appreciated that it was a healthy alternative. It lasted quite a long time in the refrigerator, over a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I highly recommend this recipe! It is so yummy and really easy to follow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzy_p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
i would have given this 3 stars but for 2 reasons; 1, i made many suggested changes to make it healthier (all whole wheat flour, applesauce for oil, less sugar) since it was my son's first birthday cake. 2, although i did not care for it, he loved it, and over the next week ate the whole thing. it was not remotely fluffy but was very moist and held up well in the fridge. i'd make it again but only for his sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I really don't like when people give recipes 5 stars & then change everything about that recipe in their review! I'm giving this a 3 star rating based on making with no changes...I thought the consistency was a little weird, bu the the taste was okay. I'll give it the kid test, but I didn't think it was all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States