Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Jury's still out on this one for me - think I could find a healthier recipe. It wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Pretty good. I added a little extra flour and buttermilk b/c of altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillvanberkom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
A nice light cake! My co workers enjoyed a piece and some had seconds! One commented that it was nice--and not too sweet. The egg white portion almost created a marbled effect when folded in to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good flavor for far less calories. I then did use real cream cheese frosting. The only thing I missed was that it is very light and fluffy and I like a dense carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious! I did follow some of the substitutions, and used only eggwhites, swapped the oil for sugarfree applesauce and I used whole grain flour. I made cupcakes and before even frosting them, my husband and toddler were gobbling them down! They are really delicious and will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
soooo good! I was looking for a satisfying breakfast bread/cake to have with my coffee and this will be perfect! I cut down on the sugar, only using 1/2 cup brown sugar and it still came out plenty sweet. I also added 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg, cloves, ginger, salt, and 1 tsp vanilla which helped with the blandness. Definitely will bake this cake again! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made half a recipe, using whole wheat pastry flour and adding 1 Tablespoon of honey, to avoid dryness. These turned out sooo satisfying! I used 3/4 cup cane sugar instead of white and brown sugars. I made them muffin style, and it was just what I was looking for. They're awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great recipe. I just made a second double batch to freeze. I did not have buttermilk, used regular milk I added 1/2 tsp each nutmeg and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Yum! It was slightly undercooked at 30 minutes, but still yum. Used regular flour since I couldn't find the fancy stuff. Also added more cinnamon (1/2 tsp), nutmeg (tsp), and ginger (tsp). Oh, and I used 3 large carrots -- way more than 1.5 cups. It went really fast at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Not as 'lite' as I would have preferred, so I altered the recipe. Firstly, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, 3 egg whites (as specified) and only one egg yolk. I also only used 3 tbsp white sugar and one cup of apple sauce. I also used skim milk instead of buttermilk, and 2 cups of grated carrots. And I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States