Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
lite and light! very good recipe, it wasn't dense and wasn't overly sweet. I cut back on brown sugar because i used splenda bs, I also used 2 packets of vanilla stevia instead of the 1/2 cup sugar and used regular milk and 2 cups carrots like others suggested. I also added crushed walnuts and golden raisins (both soaked while making the recipe). I didn't coat the pan before making this because I've always been told anytime you use stiff egg whites and add grease to the pan it flops. I litterally just took it out of the oven 5 minutes ago and tried to let it sit for a few, but couldnt help taking a piece.. very delish and airy. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Jury's still out on this one for me - think I could find a healthier recipe. It wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Pretty good. I added a little extra flour and buttermilk b/c of altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillvanberkom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
A nice light cake! My co workers enjoyed a piece and some had seconds! One commented that it was nice--and not too sweet. The egg white portion almost created a marbled effect when folded in to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good flavor for far less calories. I then did use real cream cheese frosting. The only thing I missed was that it is very light and fluffy and I like a dense carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious! I did follow some of the substitutions, and used only eggwhites, swapped the oil for sugarfree applesauce and I used whole grain flour. I made cupcakes and before even frosting them, my husband and toddler were gobbling them down! They are really delicious and will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
soooo good! I was looking for a satisfying breakfast bread/cake to have with my coffee and this will be perfect! I cut down on the sugar, only using 1/2 cup brown sugar and it still came out plenty sweet. I also added 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg, cloves, ginger, salt, and 1 tsp vanilla which helped with the blandness. Definitely will bake this cake again! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made half a recipe, using whole wheat pastry flour and adding 1 Tablespoon of honey, to avoid dryness. These turned out sooo satisfying! I used 3/4 cup cane sugar instead of white and brown sugars. I made them muffin style, and it was just what I was looking for. They're awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great recipe. I just made a second double batch to freeze. I did not have buttermilk, used regular milk I added 1/2 tsp each nutmeg and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Yum! It was slightly undercooked at 30 minutes, but still yum. Used regular flour since I couldn't find the fancy stuff. Also added more cinnamon (1/2 tsp), nutmeg (tsp), and ginger (tsp). Oh, and I used 3 large carrots -- way more than 1.5 cups. It went really fast at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States