Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this a little lighter by using 1/3 cup each of brown and white sugar and using half homemade apple butter in place of half the oil. Still came out plenty sweet and SUPER moist. This was a great way to make a weekend "treat" with my oldest boy and indulge without overindulging. When I make this again, I might use four egg whites and one full egg to make it even lighter and add a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was a great recipe! Following other people's suggestions, I used 2 full teaspoons of cinnamon. I also used 2 c whole wheat flour, instead of using cake flour, and I used skim lactose free milk instead of buttermilk - and it still turned out great! It's not sweet and cake-y, but I don't like when carrot cake is really sweet. I ate it without even frosting it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I was looking for a carrot cake that didn't have so much oil, and I didn't have any pineapple in the cupboard, so this recipe was perfect. It turned out light and delicious! One of my best carrot cakes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Moist, delicious, perfect. I used fresh ground whole wheat flour so I had to add an extra 1/4 cup of butter milk to make the batter and little more cakie. It turned out so wonderful I would for sure use this recipe for anytime I want to make carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Wow, this was amazing - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
AMAZING! A great alternative to the recipe i used to do which require over a cup of oil. This is just light and fluffy and the taste is just as good! I used skimmed buttermilk and it took 45 mins to bake well. A definte keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Incredible! I used regular white flour instead of cake flour. This cake is really moist even though there is so little oil in it. My husband loves it without any icing. Thanks for this wonderful, more healthy version of a classic dessert/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very good with the following changes: used 2 cups carrots, plain non fat yogurt instead of buttermilk, added 1/2 tsp each nutmeg, ginger, and allspice. It tasted just like the fat loaded traditional carrot cake to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I was challenged to bring a "sweet" for Mother's day brunch and came upon this recipe. I used all purpose flour and added about a half teaspoon of lemon peel to compliment the lemon juice I planned on using in the frosting and it turned out great! Super moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was not bad. I followed the recipe to the letter save for baking as cupcakes, therefore reducing baking time. Definitely 'lite' in texture, not dense and moist like carrot cake typically is. I actually think I would try using apple sauce instead of the oil, not to reduce the fat more, but to give this a bit more moistness. Other than finding it a bit on the dry side, I enjoyed this for a 'lighter' version of carrot cake. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States