Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was a great recipe! Following other people's suggestions, I used 2 full teaspoons of cinnamon. I also used 2 c whole wheat flour, instead of using cake flour, and I used skim lactose free milk instead of buttermilk - and it still turned out great! It's not sweet and cake-y, but I don't like when carrot cake is really sweet. I ate it without even frosting it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I was looking for a carrot cake that didn't have so much oil, and I didn't have any pineapple in the cupboard, so this recipe was perfect. It turned out light and delicious! One of my best carrot cakes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Moist, delicious, perfect. I used fresh ground whole wheat flour so I had to add an extra 1/4 cup of butter milk to make the batter and little more cakie. It turned out so wonderful I would for sure use this recipe for anytime I want to make carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Wow, this was amazing - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
AMAZING! A great alternative to the recipe i used to do which require over a cup of oil. This is just light and fluffy and the taste is just as good! I used skimmed buttermilk and it took 45 mins to bake well. A definte keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Incredible! I used regular white flour instead of cake flour. This cake is really moist even though there is so little oil in it. My husband loves it without any icing. Thanks for this wonderful, more healthy version of a classic dessert/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very good with the following changes: used 2 cups carrots, plain non fat yogurt instead of buttermilk, added 1/2 tsp each nutmeg, ginger, and allspice. It tasted just like the fat loaded traditional carrot cake to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I was challenged to bring a "sweet" for Mother's day brunch and came upon this recipe. I used all purpose flour and added about a half teaspoon of lemon peel to compliment the lemon juice I planned on using in the frosting and it turned out great! Super moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was not bad. I followed the recipe to the letter save for baking as cupcakes, therefore reducing baking time. Definitely 'lite' in texture, not dense and moist like carrot cake typically is. I actually think I would try using apple sauce instead of the oil, not to reduce the fat more, but to give this a bit more moistness. Other than finding it a bit on the dry side, I enjoyed this for a 'lighter' version of carrot cake. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
lite and light! very good recipe, it wasn't dense and wasn't overly sweet. I cut back on brown sugar because i used splenda bs, I also used 2 packets of vanilla stevia instead of the 1/2 cup sugar and used regular milk and 2 cups carrots like others suggested. I also added crushed walnuts and golden raisins (both soaked while making the recipe). I didn't coat the pan before making this because I've always been told anytime you use stiff egg whites and add grease to the pan it flops. I litterally just took it out of the oven 5 minutes ago and tried to let it sit for a few, but couldnt help taking a piece.. very delish and airy. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States