Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this recipe for work and my co-workers seemed to like it. I was afraid that the cake might be too lite but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
It came out perfectly moist and light in 30 mins. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 2% instead. I tried white whole wheat flour which I have read is milder than whole wheat and just as nutritious. I still have to experiment and see the difference. I also added 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg, ginger and cloves after reading the reviews. And of course, some raisins (my husband loves them in anything). Served it with tea and my girlfriends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great recipe. This was the first time that I made carrot cake, and it turned out fabulously! I did change a few things- I used only brown sugar, and whole wheat flour, and I replaced buttermilk with almond milk. I also added cranberries and pumpkin seeds. I will definitly make this recipe again, though I will probably add a bit more grated carrot next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janinasolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by how delicious this recipe was! Very moist and satisfies the sweet tooth, while being just a little bit healthy. :] Tip: using whole wheat pastry flour in baked goods eliminates the heavier texture of whole wheat and keeps all the benefits. Also, for those wanting to use all whole wheat flour in this recipe, just know that whole wheat does have more calories and fat than refined flour, but it also has more nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
this was delicious! I also made a few adjustments to make it even healthier... I used 2c of whole wheat flour and omitted the cake flour, 1c of unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, 2c of carrot, and 2tsp of cinnamon and added a 1/2tsp of nutmeg. It came not moist and delicious! Next time I will cut down on both sugars as it is quite sweet with the applesauce. Great with or without cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaitlynChapman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Made this first time today , kids & grands were here , nothing left . Will definitely make again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Hillel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This carrot cake was very good. To the cook I am sorry but due to strict diet I had to tweek a little. I used 1 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. I also added a pinch of kosher salt and used 1 cup of splenda instead of sugar; everything else stayed the same. I give you 5 stars for this cake. Thanks for posting Marva!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco Murray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This cake was awesome with some modifications like 1tsp of lemon zest in the batter and frosting.I also put 2/3 cup plain yogurt in place of buttermilk and 1tsp nutmeg and 1/2tsp ground cloves,1/2 cup fresh diced pineappleThis recipe is pretty awesome in taste and texture.Thanks Marva!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
All I did to change this recipe was up the spices: 2 tsps cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ginger. Everything else I did exactly like the recipe stated (except that I used real cream cheese frosting). THIS CAKE IS DELICIOUS and I can't imagine why anyone would blow the fat and calories on a "real" carrot cake when this one is so wonderful. Thanks for such a great recipe, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I substituted the oil with applesauce and added just a dash of nutmeg. Instead of icing I just topped with pecan pieces and baked them into a top crust and have got nothing but tremedous praise. This cake ( I made them as muffins) is hands down outstanding and I will continue to make this for a long long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States