Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC4VT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is the first carrot cake recipe I've tried and I love it! I eat mostly healthy foods but my weakness is cake. So, needless to say, I'm a very experienced cake taster! I can tell this one is lower fat than what you would get at a bakery or restaurant, however, it has wonderful flavor and is very moist. My family couldn't even tell it was healthier. It satisfies my cake craving and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I thought this was really bland. Luckily I used the cake for cake balls and was able to remedy the problem with the addition of some nutmeg and ground cloves into the frosting cake crumble mix. I appreciate that this healthier than the original, but it is lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is a delicious, moist recipe! To make it even better, I added a little bit each of cloves, nutmeg, ginger, raisins, vanilla, walnuts, and flax. I also swapped the buttermilk for skim milk and the oil for applesauce. This is a great healthy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
absolutely delicious! So moist and flavorful, better than any full calorie recipe Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Delicious! Wonderful and full of spices and a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It looks like I may be in the minority here, but I did not care for this cake at all. I made it per recipe instructions & it just did not have enough flavor. I gave it 3 stars, instead of 2 because it IS a much healthier version of carrot cake. However, I don't think I will attempt it again. Texture is dense, which I like... but it was too dry and bland as some other reviewers have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I found the cake to be pretty bland. Perhaps adding some nutmeg or clove might have made the flavor better. I also thought it was a little dense - not quite as fluffy as it should have been. I did use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour howver and I'm sure this had something to do with it. It wasn't bad, I will just probably find a recipe that has a little more OOMPH in the flavor department next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Wilson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lascassas, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is one of the best cakes I have ever made and so easy. I make it just like stated and it is great! I have made it 4 times now and it is perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this recipe for work and my co-workers seemed to like it. I was afraid that the cake might be too lite but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States