Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great recipe! For high altitude bakers, I reduced the baking soda and baking powder both to 3/4 teaspoons. Using a zester grater to shred the carrots makes the cake nice and smooth. I added raisins and actually used a bunch of carrots and the result was a wonderfully moist cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
A very nice carrot cake, you cant even tell its lite! Some changes, i used all whole wheat flour, and non-fat milk, but it was still yummy! I will make this whenever i have extra carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I made these muffins as a cake. It was moist and tasty. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe! Totally delicious with great flavor and sweetness, and is straightforward to make. It is very moist and dense. I added 3/4 cup raisins and made it in 2- 9 inch cake pans. I used one of the cream cheese icing recipes with 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice mixed in and it was HEAVENLY! Just make sure you like a more dense cake if you are making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Yumm.. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly... It turned out great and was gone in no time. The second time, I substituted the oil with applesauce and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup.. I wouldn't recommend that. The cake sank after I took it out from the oven, and did not have much of a taste. I still liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emiliania huxleyi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Bremen, Bremen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Loved this recipe! No suggestions, just make as is! All in the family were pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abrooks
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Nice and light. This recipe has become my standard carrot cake recipe. It's not as oily as most carrot cakes so it can handle a good amount of cream cheese frosting without being too rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abrooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
So tasty and yet not horrible for you to eat! I used only wheat flour and applesauce instead of oil and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This turned out so good, my brother-in-law and step-dad both loved it. They are the pickiest meat n' potatoes kind of eaters. To make it more "whole grain," I did 1 1/2 cups ww flour and 1/2 cup cake flour. I only used 2 eggs because that's all I had. I did use all sugar called for subbing evaporated cane juice for the 1/2 cup sugar (got it at Whole Foods in the bulk bins). I spiced it up like the other reviewers with 2 tsp. cinn, 1 tsp. nutmeg, and 1 tsp crystalized ginger. Also, I ran out of buttermilk, so I added plain yogurt to regular milk to make up the difference. Then I noticed the batter looked a little thick (probably due to having more ww flour) so I added an additional 1/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is an EXCELLENT recipe!Congratulations Marva.Whoever has tried it here in Athens has asked for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States