Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great recipe! For high altitude bakers, I reduced the baking soda and baking powder both to 3/4 teaspoons. Using a zester grater to shred the carrots makes the cake nice and smooth. I added raisins and actually used a bunch of carrots and the result was a wonderfully moist cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
A very nice carrot cake, you cant even tell its lite! Some changes, i used all whole wheat flour, and non-fat milk, but it was still yummy! I will make this whenever i have extra carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I made these muffins as a cake. It was moist and tasty. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe! Totally delicious with great flavor and sweetness, and is straightforward to make. It is very moist and dense. I added 3/4 cup raisins and made it in 2- 9 inch cake pans. I used one of the cream cheese icing recipes with 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice mixed in and it was HEAVENLY! Just make sure you like a more dense cake if you are making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Yumm.. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly... It turned out great and was gone in no time. The second time, I substituted the oil with applesauce and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup.. I wouldn't recommend that. The cake sank after I took it out from the oven, and did not have much of a taste. I still liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emiliania huxleyi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Bremen, Bremen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Loved this recipe! No suggestions, just make as is! All in the family were pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abrooks
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Nice and light. This recipe has become my standard carrot cake recipe. It's not as oily as most carrot cakes so it can handle a good amount of cream cheese frosting without being too rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abrooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
So tasty and yet not horrible for you to eat! I used only wheat flour and applesauce instead of oil and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This turned out so good, my brother-in-law and step-dad both loved it. They are the pickiest meat n' potatoes kind of eaters. To make it more "whole grain," I did 1 1/2 cups ww flour and 1/2 cup cake flour. I only used 2 eggs because that's all I had. I did use all sugar called for subbing evaporated cane juice for the 1/2 cup sugar (got it at Whole Foods in the bulk bins). I spiced it up like the other reviewers with 2 tsp. cinn, 1 tsp. nutmeg, and 1 tsp crystalized ginger. Also, I ran out of buttermilk, so I added plain yogurt to regular milk to make up the difference. Then I noticed the batter looked a little thick (probably due to having more ww flour) so I added an additional 1/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is an EXCELLENT recipe!Congratulations Marva.Whoever has tried it here in Athens has asked for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States