Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Raychel
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I stuck to the recipe completely but I never even have vegetable oil in my house, I bake with coconut oil and added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice the second time and it made the flavor more intense and fragrant! Will be making again with that small change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great flavor and texture without all the oil and calories. I added raisins and they were delicious with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is great! I did not miss the added fat at all. The texture is perfectly moist, with just enough sweetness. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I subbed with skim milk, otherwise I followed the recipe exact. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
great cake! I added a pinch of ground cloves, a pinch of nutmeg and a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I used 1 cup unbleached. Flour instead of cake flour. Iced with low fat cream cheese recipe from skinnytaste blog. I will NEVER make the traditional recipe carrot cake again - not when this version is so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
After the amount of work going into this cake (lets face it, most carrot cakes don't require stiff peaked egg whites), I wasn't sure I was going to keep it. And then I took a bite. It is not as good as full fat carrot cake. It is so much better. I have since tweaked the recipe for my own tastes, but I feel that is imperative with any recipe. For a great, non greasy, basic carrot cake recipe, this is the one I will go to every time from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Delicious and moist! This will be my carrot cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Excellent carrot cake. I used greek yogurt instead of buttermilk and all purpose flour and it work perfectly. It is light and moist and doesn't have that oily texture that you get with most carrot cakes. You can spice it up to your own taste. This is the one I will make from now on. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was nice, heavier than expected, but still really nice. It is better the second day for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
needs something to make it a little more moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
OH MY GOD. This was amazing. OK, let me share with you all what I did. I followed the ingredients exactly except: #1 I didn't have buttermilk, so I used skim milk, and #2, I added based on other reviews, 1/2 tsp of allspice, ground cloves, and nutmeg, and increased cinnamon to 2 tsps. All I can say is wow. I also made an alternative form of frosting because I didn't have cream cheese or powdered sugar: 1 c milk, 1/4 c flour stirring constantly over medium high heat as it thickens and boils, then add to creamed 1 c butter 1 c granulated sugar and 2 tsp vanilla. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States