Lisa's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used penne instead of elbow macaroni. It was really dry and kind of crunchy after not too long. Not good as leftovers. I also tried to adjust the measurements to work, but I guess I failed a little bit =P. I think I might try it again with elbow, though, and then re-review/rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is pretty good and I'm a stickler for mac and cheese. It is wrong in measurements. I scaled it to feed less people. Half this recipe is enough for 4 people just having mac n cheese for dinner. It is a different recipe. I only use 8oz of elbow macaroni. I added hot sauce with the milk to give it a spice. I also added 1/2 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I have been making homemade mac and cheese for quite some time, but I must say this is one of the best versions I have ever tasted. One thing I did a little differently is that I cut up Velveeta and butter into little squares and I laid them on the top of the dish. When there was about 15 minutes of baking time left I stirred the macaroni and added in the melted cheese and butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Heavenly! This macaroni and cheese is SO good! I changed the recipe by adding only one pound of noodles, one cup of milk, skipped the swiss, added chopped up hot dogs (my husband is a meat eater), and didn't add butter to the mix, just dotted a little on top. I don't think I'll ever buy boxed mac and cheese ever again! By the way, my husband HATES Mac an' Cheese, but LOVED this! He wolfed down nearly half the pan in one meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Tasty but turned out just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was simple to make....but tasted like the dish my grandma use to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The basic idea is good but the measurements are all wrong. It definitely does not require two pounds of elbows. Second, I added a bit more milk, because 1/2 cup didn't seem like it would make any difference at all. I added about 1 cup instead. And to top it off I added a bit of bread crumbs on top. I cooked it for about 45 minutes and it turned out great! Even my extremely picky boyfriend ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I didn't have swiss, but think it would be good.... Mine turned out a little dry, but it was very good - aahh - comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I'll admit this recipe is good..but it definitely has some areas that need to be worked out. The amount of milk used has to be doubled..I used 2 cups and that worked really well. I also doubled the butter to a 1/2 cup instead of 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sullivan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Very good recipe! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States