Lisa's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
I think the directions are wrong!!! It says to use two 16 oz. bags of macaroni, which is way too much! Use just one 16 oz bag and use 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 cup butter. I made it this way and it tasted pretty good. I don't think 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 butter would be nearly enough for two 16 oz bags of pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
The Staff at AllRecipes has corrected the ingredients to include, well, three kinds of cheese, per the original submission. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Heavenly! This macaroni and cheese is SO good! I changed the recipe by adding only one pound of noodles, one cup of milk, skipped the swiss, added chopped up hot dogs (my husband is a meat eater), and didn't add butter to the mix, just dotted a little on top. I don't think I'll ever buy boxed mac and cheese ever again! By the way, my husband HATES Mac an' Cheese, but LOVED this! He wolfed down nearly half the pan in one meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Yum. I made this with only a pound and a half of pasta instead of two pounds and increased the milk to three cups to make it more creamy. We also added onion in replacement of the onion powder and garlic for the garlic powder. We added a layer of provolone slices to the middle and dusted the top with parmesan and bread crumbs. My four year old ate every last bite and we will have left overs for the next several days. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Made this tonight - was pretty good, but I wish I'd read the other reviews. Thought the 1/2 C milk wasn't enough but the first time I usually make something as the recipe stands, then NEXT time, adjust from there. So, yes, it was a little dry but not bad. I ended up doing it in a stock pot that I could use in the oven, as there was way too much for the 9X13 pan, so maybe that is why it didn't totally dry out. The next time, I'll cut the recipe in half, unless I'm feeding a ton of people. Husband loved it, though, and ate two good-sized portions. It's a keeper, with some modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I have been making homemade mac and cheese for quite some time, but I must say this is one of the best versions I have ever tasted. One thing I did a little differently is that I cut up Velveeta and butter into little squares and I laid them on the top of the dish. When there was about 15 minutes of baking time left I stirred the macaroni and added in the melted cheese and butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was pretty good. I sauted onions in the butter and then melted the cheese and added the milk. Because the reviews indicated it was somewhat dry I added 1/2 cup of half and half. After I mixed all the ingredience I put Italian bread crumbs on top and only cooked for 30 mins. I've never made home made macaroni and cheese and was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The basic idea is good but the measurements are all wrong. It definitely does not require two pounds of elbows. Second, I added a bit more milk, because 1/2 cup didn't seem like it would make any difference at all. I added about 1 cup instead. And to top it off I added a bit of bread crumbs on top. I cooked it for about 45 minutes and it turned out great! Even my extremely picky boyfriend ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
I was afraid that a 1/2 cup of milk would not be enough, so I upped it to 2 1/2 cups and I added an 8 oz container of sour cream. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krzylittlecara
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I loved this recipe, although the cheese didn't melt very well when i mixed the pasta into it. I also put more butter in and also added some heavy cream to the mixture and a bit of dry mustard, it was great. If you do but the recipe in half shorten the baking time, ours was a bit "crunchy" on top.........and i don't mean crunchy in a good way....lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States