Lisa's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. The directions are way off--2# of macaroni? Then are you supposed to melt the cheeses in a bowl in the microwave? You can't stir it if you do. On the top of the stove the cheeses didn't melt right and didn't blend together. I added more milk and just ended up with a gooey mess that didn't mix with the pasta. I tried to rescue it with a few minutes in the microwave hoping the cheeses would finally coat the pasta, but it didn't help. I covered the dish when I put it in the oven hoping all would come out right. It didn't and I just gave up. I have been cooking for over 50 years and this is my all-time biggest disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie in St. Paul

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The thing I liked the most about this recipe was that it is very quick and easy to assemble. However, even though I added a lot more milk than the recipe called for, it still seemed dry to me. I think I will try it again and this time not bake it for as long. One thing I did do was return the macaroni to the pan I cooked it in and mixed the remaining ingredients in the warm pan. It really helped the cheese to melt better and made it easier to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I tweaked the recipe quite a bit and I actually made it into a casserole, but wow, what a casserole! I used a box of wheat elbow macaroni, cut up a cooked chicken breast, threw in some crumbled bacon, and about one cup each cooked broccoli and cauliflower. Used minced garlic and onion instead of the powdered kind. Combined all that in a 9x13 and sprinkled on a little black pepper. Made the sauce in a saucier with margarine, 2 c. milk, 8 oz. each shredded cheddar, mozzarella, and colby jack and poured that on top. Sprinkled some slivered almonds and paprika over the top. So, so delicious! This recipe was an excellent base for some really great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
So Dry! I used 1 1/2 lbs of pasta...added extra cheese and sour cream...still too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Based on other reviews, I used 1 lb (1-3/4 C) dry macaroni), 10 oz. shredded Tillamook cheddar & 10 oz. shredded mozzarella, 1 C milk, 1 tsp dry mustard, 1/2 tsp pepper. Placed in a 9x13 pan and dotted with 2 T butter and 3 T bread crumbs. Important to allow to sit for 15 min. after baking to retain its shame when cut. With the amount of fat from the cheeses, I think next time I'll skip the butter on top. Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
It's only "OK" ....maybe because I prefer my mac n cheese CREAMY and thick. So maybe I should try a recipe with heavy cream in it? IDK. I did halve the recipe because I didn't want to make too much of it. It got a little too dry and I think I maybe added too much butter....IDK. It's sorta greasy and dry, and not creamy. =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe, however I found it a little dry. I would probably use 1-1.5 cups of milk (just my preference). Also, by mixing all the cheese in with the macaroni before spreading it in the baking dish makes for a very difficult dish to clean afterwards (cheese bakes to the dish). Next time I think I will just spread the cheese on the top of the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Followed directions. Very stringy. No one liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Wow...yum. I will never make mac n cheese from a box again! So easy to throw together and toss in the oven. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This mac and cheese is delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States