Lisa's Co-op Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Now really, does anything need 2 tablespoons of crushed red pepper flakes? Could do with much less otherwise a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love this soup. I had a bunch of kale from my csa so I made this according to the recipe except for halving the red pepper flakes - i'm afraid of all that heat. It was still quite spicy and delicious. Best Kale Soup I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This soup is fabulous! In the spring, when kale is one of the first greens of the season, this is a great way to use it. I used an entire pound of homemade, hotly spiced sausage and substituted homemade chicken broth and beef broth that I had around for the veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is one of the best soups I've tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is an easy, hearty and healthy soup that is also really good! I used veggie broth and left out the sausage and I used a third of the crushed red pepper flakes that was called for (2 tablespoons would make for a painful soup experience, IMO). It has a great earthy flavor and looked pretty in the bowl, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I LOVE kale! It's so nutritious and delicious. This soup was great, and I would have given it 5 stars had it called for less red pepper flakes. It was so so spicy that I had to add more broth to tone it down. I will definitely make this again, but with a third or so of the red pepper flakes. I didn't use the sausage, but I did make tiny little meatballs which were great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I'm rather new to eating kale and this was the perfect recipe to start with. I did cut back on the red pepper and used a mild italian sausage for my kids, but it still had a subtle heat to it. Talk about aromatics! This soup had my mouth watering before I even added the stock. My husband, the kids, and I all loved it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Love it! I added some diced tomatoes, and didn't add the crushed red peppers. The sausage made it spicy enough for my two kids. I added extra crushed red pepper to my own as seasoning, along with some grated Parmesan. Yum! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
A good, hearty soup to start. I ended up adding a few more things for flavor and heartiness. I added a tsp each of parsley, thyme and rosemary, doubled the garlic and added one cup of diced tomatoes in juice, a cup of white wine and a handful of chopped mushrooms. I also tossed in some chopped cooked kielbasa toward the end of cooking to add more protein. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States