Lisa's Co-op Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This soup was great! I followed the recipe as written, but made it before work and put all into the slow cooker after cooking the kale down a little. I did not add the sausage, as the soup was flavorful and peppery without it, but will add some later for my husband, as he's more likely to eat it with the meat. I was uncertain at first, as I've tried kale and some other greens before and found them too bitter, but this soup was a wonderful way to get the health benefits of kale and the other vegetables without the disadvantages of canned, high sodium soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I served it over brown rice, and added less broth, so it was more of a stew than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
A good, hearty soup to start. I ended up adding a few more things for flavor and heartiness. I added a tsp each of parsley, thyme and rosemary, doubled the garlic and added one cup of diced tomatoes in juice, a cup of white wine and a handful of chopped mushrooms. I also tossed in some chopped cooked kielbasa toward the end of cooking to add more protein. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I'm rather new to eating kale and this was the perfect recipe to start with. I did cut back on the red pepper and used a mild italian sausage for my kids, but it still had a subtle heat to it. Talk about aromatics! This soup had my mouth watering before I even added the stock. My husband, the kids, and I all loved it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I LOVE soup. I found this to be the tastiest I've ever made. AND, I happen to be one of those who really likes spicy hot. So, in addition to the 2T of red pepper flakes, I added jalapeno peppers. Thanks, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I would give it 5 stars but I thought it had way too much crushed red pepper. I followed the recipe (except I cut the red pepper flakes by half). Wonderful recipe and I plan to make this again and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lake Lotawana, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Now really, does anything need 2 tablespoons of crushed red pepper flakes? Could do with much less otherwise a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I LOVE kale! It's so nutritious and delicious. This soup was great, and I would have given it 5 stars had it called for less red pepper flakes. It was so so spicy that I had to add more broth to tone it down. I will definitely make this again, but with a third or so of the red pepper flakes. I didn't use the sausage, but I did make tiny little meatballs which were great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Used white cannelli beans, 8 c of fat free low sodium chicken broth and used spicy chipotle chicken sausage.....excellent and hearty. Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Fantastically easy and a great use for kale. I did find it a bit too spicy and next time I will reduce the red pepper flakes. But, there will be a next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States