Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made this cake for my son's 13th birthday because he specifically requested a chocolate cake with chocolate chips in it. Needless to say, it was a big hit! I prepared it exactly as the recipe is written adding only about 2 tablespoons of cocoa for some extra chocolate umph! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trivia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
a little dry but overall tasty! the choc chips were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizanoel21
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made this for my son's 8th birthday and it was a hit! I cut the oil down to 3/4 cup and it was still moist and delicious. After it cooled, I sprinkled with powdered sugar and served with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Very easy and love the it's made with inexpensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyRus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is essentially a dump cake. Throw it together, pour into Bundt pan and bake. It's surprisingly plain and made better by the addition of rum raisin (or other flavor) ice cream. My company, kids included, liked it better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Just prefect!!! This cake is so moist. I know everyone, even myself likes to change or modify recipes but I wouldn't change a thing. I did make it twice. And founnd that 60 min in my oven was to long- 50 min was prefect. i guess it just depends on the oven. other than that- don't mess with this one. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinegarcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Added a chocolate glaze and it was amazing! A keeper for gifts, desserts, or ... Very easy to make and very moist. In a bundt pan, it will take 1 hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBTRFLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quiqui
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So easy to make! I used 1/2 cup veg. oil + 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup veg. oil. And I also used 1/2 cup hot coffee instead of hot water. It came out great for our Thanksgiving dinner table...Thanks for the great recipe and good tips from the other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great cake, very easy to make. I needed to make 2 cake for a bake sale and this is the recipe I choose. I know some people don't like the substitutions but I love them. I used no sugar added applesauce instead of oil, fat free sour cream instead of regular and it tasted great. I didn't sub the eggs because I didn't have egg beaters but next time I will. My 13 year old son made the first batch into chocolate cupcakes and they were great. No icing needed. What I like about this recipe is it's not too sweet. The two cakes came out great. Will add this to my recipe box and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This Cake is Amazing ! My 6 year old son said he wanted chocolate on chocolate on chocolate cake for his birthday so i made this recipe used applesauce instead of oil and used the pro ganche for the icing and it was just what he wanted !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very moist - very quick. While I usually avoid recipes that involve just doctoring up a cake mix this one had a little something more to it. It evoked more of a home made flavor and I used to to prepare an emergency dessert for a family outing. It was gobbled up!! Since I am famous for my scratch desserts no one suspected there was a cake mix involved - it was THAT good! I will keep it (secretly!) in my recipe box to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States