Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very moist - very quick. While I usually avoid recipes that involve just doctoring up a cake mix this one had a little something more to it. It evoked more of a home made flavor and I used to to prepare an emergency dessert for a family outing. It was gobbled up!! Since I am famous for my scratch desserts no one suspected there was a cake mix involved - it was THAT good! I will keep it (secretly!) in my recipe box to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Tastes great but is soooooo oily! The "Double Chocolate Brownie Cake" is the same recipe but 1/2 the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Quick and easy! I used a milk chocolate cake mix and a double fudge pudding mix. Cake came out super moist! I also used 1/2 C of oil as others had suggested. This cake recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This cake is fabulous! Following some of the suggestions, I used 1/2 C of oil and I used 1 C strong hot coffee. Oh, and I lost my head and added a whole bag of chocolate chips. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This tasted like a greasy chocolate cake. If I ever made it again (which I will not) I would have to cut the oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
The most wonderful chocolate cake I think I have ever baked. Everyone who ate this cake, said it was simply perfect. I served the cake plain with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar ~ I used a Meijer moist select deep chocolate cake mix and did reduce the oil to just 1/2 cup. I also used full size chocolate chips. I loved the fudgy taste and the crisp outside but moist inside. Pretty sure I will make this cake again, although next time I will play around to try and make it a little more healthy! Even though its good, not sure its worth 447 calories a slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
this is an amazing chocolate cake! my cousin tried to eat it out of the pan while it was still burning hot when i made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love this Chocolate cake it is my favorite. I used a 9x15 pan instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
SIMPLE, QUICK, EASY & TASTY! I gave it 5 stars for the simplicity and easiness to make in addition to the great taste. Definitely use 1/2 cup of strong coffee instead of hot water. I've baked this several times and once I lessened the oil to 2/3c because some reviewers mentioned that it was too much oil. It DEFINITELY tastes better with the full amount. Dont cut corners. If you wanna cut calories, do like i do and cut yourself a couple slices and take the rest to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States