Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I changed the recipe to a yellow cake (meaning I used vanilla pudding, and yellow cake mix instead of the chocolate alternatives). Although the cake tastes good, it is FAR too dense. I was looking for a moist cake, but this just did not turn out right. I am thinking that nest time I'll skip on the sour cream, and reduce the pudding to half. Perhaps it did not turn out right because I changed it to vanilla, so keep that in mind before you disregard the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I couldn't justify the calorie count, so made some adaptations based on other's comments. The experiment turned out well. I used a small (2.1 oz.) pkg. of sugar/fat free chocolate pudding mix, 1/2 cup of oil, 1 cup light sour cream, 1/2 tsp. instant coffee and 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips. The result was not quite as moist as the one pictured, but had dense, deep chocolate flavor. A little drizzle of thin vanilla frosting made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Spaan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! It makes a moist and delicious cake and is quick and easy to put together. I frosted it with Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting, also from this site. A match made in heaven! I followed the recipe exactly and found no changes were necessary, even the bake time at 1 hour was spot on for my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
LOVE this cake, everyone does, they say how moist it is. I do add 1 cup more choc chips and make sure you do the hot water it does make a difference. And very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made this cake for my son's birthday several years ago. He requests it now for EVERY special occassion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was a great recipe!!! Very moist, delicious and easy as ever! I actually made a chocolate ganache which put it "over-the-top"...pun intended. I plan to make it often. As good as the chocolate is, I plan to try it with a yellow cake mix, vanilla pudding and milk chocolate chips...should be really good! Thanks, Lisa S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Ok well i made this cake for my Birthday It was Delicious!! I did only use 3 eggs and instead of water strong brewef coffee...luv this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Perfect and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I love this cake and make it often! I also add "satiny chocolate glaze" submitted by Ginger and fresh strawberries for garnish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this exactly as listed. I used Pillsbury moist chocolate cake mix. It turned out perfectly! Everyone who tried it loved it. It was very rich, so I chose not to dust it with powdered sugar. Leftovers store very well in the refrigerator, and the cake retains it's awesome moistness. Cupcakes can also be made from this recipe. Just adjust the baking time to ~ 20 min. One recipe makes about 3 dozen cupcakes. This is perfect for portion and calorie control...if you can eat just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States