Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Completely delicious! I used cooled coffee instead of water, and it turned out amazing! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I changed the recipe to a yellow cake (meaning I used vanilla pudding, and yellow cake mix instead of the chocolate alternatives). Although the cake tastes good, it is FAR too dense. I was looking for a moist cake, but this just did not turn out right. I am thinking that nest time I'll skip on the sour cream, and reduce the pudding to half. Perhaps it did not turn out right because I changed it to vanilla, so keep that in mind before you disregard the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I couldn't justify the calorie count, so made some adaptations based on other's comments. The experiment turned out well. I used a small (2.1 oz.) pkg. of sugar/fat free chocolate pudding mix, 1/2 cup of oil, 1 cup light sour cream, 1/2 tsp. instant coffee and 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips. The result was not quite as moist as the one pictured, but had dense, deep chocolate flavor. A little drizzle of thin vanilla frosting made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Spaan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! It makes a moist and delicious cake and is quick and easy to put together. I frosted it with Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting, also from this site. A match made in heaven! I followed the recipe exactly and found no changes were necessary, even the bake time at 1 hour was spot on for my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
LOVE this cake, everyone does, they say how moist it is. I do add 1 cup more choc chips and make sure you do the hot water it does make a difference. And very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made this cake for my son's birthday several years ago. He requests it now for EVERY special occassion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was a great recipe!!! Very moist, delicious and easy as ever! I actually made a chocolate ganache which put it "over-the-top"...pun intended. I plan to make it often. As good as the chocolate is, I plan to try it with a yellow cake mix, vanilla pudding and milk chocolate chips...should be really good! Thanks, Lisa S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Ok well i made this cake for my Birthday It was Delicious!! I did only use 3 eggs and instead of water strong brewef coffee...luv this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Perfect and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I love this cake and make it often! I also add "satiny chocolate glaze" submitted by Ginger and fresh strawberries for garnish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States