Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by gizmokitty89
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
A great recipe! I used chocolate chunks instead of chips for a more textured cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizmokitty89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I was looking for a good cake with no frosting since the boyfriend doesn't like it, and this was excellent. I used butter cake mix, vanilla pudding, and an entire package of semi-sweet chocolate chips. The only changes I made were that I used a sheet cake pan and coated the chips in flour before mixing them in so that they wouldn't sink to the bottom. This tasted like a giant moist chocolate chip cookie! Thank you so much this was incredibly easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I've made this twice,once for someone's birthday and once for a baby shower, and everyone LOVED it! It was so moist and very chocolaty. Both times I made it in a big sheet pan, and it is a great recipe for decorative cakes because it is so dense and heavy. I used regular chocolate chips the first time and mini ones the second, and I think the regular ones make give it a better texture. This cake is awesome and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have made cakes like this before, so I am familiar with the formula. I agree with naples34102 that a whole cup of vegetable oil was unnecessary. I did use a melted stick of butter and double-brewed coffee in place of the water called for. I didn't have mini-chips, but I did have regular semi-sweet. This cake was not easy to just pour into the bundt pan, I had to scoop it with my spatula and then even/smooth it out. This took darn near an hour and a half to bake, covered a little over halfway through to keep the top and sides from burning. This is a gift for my husband's family-I'm sure they'll love it. NOTE: HUGE HIT. This was so moist and just chocolatey. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is one of the best tasting chocolate cakes I have ever made..definitely the fastest. I usually don't like the taste of box mixes but with all the additions it you cant tell its a box at all. Next time I will sub the oil for applesauce and light sour cream to make it a little healthier. If you like light moist cakes this is the one for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I made this cake for the 3rd or fourth time today and I think I finally got it right! After viewing other comments here are the changes I made: Yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding mix, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup cold coffee instead of the water, and 1/2 cup sour cream. The cake looked great and tasted even better! It had just a little bit of a tasty brown crust, and was soooo moist. The dusting of powdered sugar was just the right touch. Thank you Lisa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
It was OK, I'm still searching for a more chocolate tasting cake. I subbed apple sauce for the oil. My family is not going back for seconds, so that tells me they are not impressed either, I am eating it all myself. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Sweet! Subbed with 1/2 cup veggie oil, 1/2 cup coffee (in place of the hot water), and added 1 tbsp. Mint extract per recipe. I made 75 cupcakes for my daughter's slumber party, and my e-mail's been swamped with requests from parents and teachers ever since! Stay creative, no frosting needed, fork optional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beechblondee5
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Best chocolate cake I have had!! I use naturally sweetened apple sauce instead of the oil and it comes out super moist every time!! I sprinkle it with powdered sugar and it's a hit every time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beechblondee5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was very moist and had a very good flavor! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khandley25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States