Lisa's Best Baked Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wow - and then some! I used oyster crackers smashed up in a freezer baggie. I had 12 giant Quahog clams that I shucked myself - saved the clam liquor & froze. I added bay scallops, green peppers, green onions, garlic, parsley and mixed it all together. Added a small amount of clam liquor. Melted more than 1/2 stick butter. Filled up and pressed down the clam mixture into the big clam shells - it still made me 14 clams! Topped with melted butter and baked for 20 min - remember my clams had not been cooked. The result is out of this world!!!! Better than I've had at ANY seafood restaurant and I've been cooking clams for half a century!!!!! Thank you Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I don't eat seafood but my bf bought clams and wanted me to cook them. I had no idea how but your recipe looked easy so I tried it. He LOVED them. He said they were the best clams he ever had and said he wished he'd bought more. Thanks so much for a great recipe and so easy! (I had smaller clams but I used only 1/4 cup of butter and the same amount for the rest of the ingredients..a half cup seemed like a lot and the crumbs had plenty of buttery goodness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe is good but one has to be careful because the flavor of the garlic overlaps the seafood flavor. I didn't like the fact that the cracker got kind of crumbly, it will be better to lift the clam with a fork before adding the cracker, otherwise it will fall of the shell while taking the clam out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of clams but I enjoyed this dish. I omitted the parsley, and added some finely grated Parm to the crumb mixture. The fresh lemon is a must! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I substituted store-brought italian bread crumbs and used real chunks of garlic, and it turned out delicious. Also shaved a healthy portion of romano into the mix. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Try putting your clams in the freezer and freeze them. When they thaw out they will open and be ready to use. I use bread brumbs and minced celery and baste with butter as they are baking. Very good recipe. Thanks McGee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is the closest recipe to one one the greatest dishes in Santa Barbara at a renown resturant called brophy's. This got me clse although I just used regular bread crumbs, but the extra ingrediants that made it a 5 was adding parmesian and a piece of bacon in it befre baking. It is better to cook the bacon beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I grilled minced onions in skillet before adding other ingredients. They were very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very easy and quite the impressive treat coming out of the oven! Served as appetizers for my husband's birthday dinner- he LOVED them and was quite impressed. Think it may have been better with fresh parsley and only 2 tablespoons of garlic-- will try with these changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
very good! I gave four stars because I felt the taste got a little over whelming after 3 and that was w/ just two tbls of garlic. Would not use as a main course but a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States